• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Greg Morgan
    232 I6
    • Feb 05, 2001

Torque vs Horsepower

I was reading a thread yesterday about building a 401 and as usual the subject of torque vs horsepower raised it's ugly head. I understand the differences and advantages of both. However not being an engine builder, what I don't understand is how one builds for torque. Other than increasing displacement (preferably through stroke, I assume) what is the basic process? Are there components (cams, heads,carbs, etc) that increase torque more than horsepower?

Obviously a 401 will generate more torque than a 360 (displacement again), but 360's are more common. Are there significant increases to be had out of a 360, short of boring and/or stroking?
    <BR>
  • fulsizjeep
    Señor Jackhead
    • Aug 21, 2002

Sure, cam, heads and carb can make a difference as well as bore and stroke, etc. I am by no means an expert, but how the engine breaths can affect HP and Torque. So intake, carb and exhaust should also be considered. I am running a Edelbrock SP2P on my 401 mainly for the torque aspect. These intakes have smaller runner diameter than the Performers or even stock as they were developed for the 304. I run out of power on the highway around 75 with 33s and 3.73 gears. Don't need to go any faster than that anyways. When crawling up slickrock and mountain trails in low-low, it provides plenty power to get the job done from 4000-13000 feet so far. I also run a Comp Cams 260H which is also designed for more torque in lower rpms and is generally referred to as an RV cam. Opening up the exhaust will raise HP but generally torque will drop off.
    Flint
    Ran when parked.
    http://jubileejeeps.org/quadratrac
    88 GW, 401/727/208, 5" lift, D44s/4.10s/locked up, 35s with a few Evil Twin & TT's Fabworks mods
    76 401 Wag, 77 401 Wag, 77 401 J20
    http://eviltwinfab.com http://www.ttsfabworks.com

Comment

• Stuka
      • Jan 21, 2001