• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • BrianAg95
    232 I6
    • Feb 12, 2007

Decision Time

Well.... my wag has been sitting in my garage since September... I had been out of work, and put a used radiator in as my old one was leaking.... the new/used one seemed to be holding up as it had been in for 4 months without peeing on my garage floor. I drove her out one night (after dark of course) and while we were eating dinner, she peed out her coolant, which I didn't notice as it was dark... so driving her back on the freeway she overheated.. DUH... I pulled off the freeway, but not before she had no compression.. Blown head gasket of course, but I am worried about other damage... because of course the idiot lights/temp gauge don't quite read correct so I had no warning what was going on till it was too late.

I can do some things, and while after researching the process of doing the head gasket I am confident I can do that... my fear of course is being a novice, I won't know what else I should be looking for when I dig into her....

So decision time:
    A: Replace the head gasket and radiator myself... hope thats all I need to do. ~$400 in parts for new radiator and all the gaskets.
    B: Get it fixed at a mechanic. $$$$ One quote told me $1400 and up depending on what they find..
    C: Sell and get out of the game... Wife is giving me the "it's not reliable speach each time I bring it up"

It is a third vehicle and not a daily driver, mainly used for hardware store runs, light errands when I felt like driving it, and camping.. The reliability issue mainly matters for camping trips, as the Other GWag I had vapor locked twice on the same camping trip and the wife wants no part of that again.... This is the first time this wag has broken down, but the other one I owned I think gave her a bad taste in her mouth....

So help/advice/whatever.....
    Last edited by BrianAg95; 05-23-2010, 08:58 AM.
    88' Grand Wagoneer - 110 K