• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Hemp
    230 Tornado
    • Mar 15, 2010

Howell TBI or Holley TBI + Igntion

Hello all. I am new to the FSJ stuff, so take it easy on me. I have been an XJ guy for years but stepped up to the plate and got a big jeep. I am having trouble with my 2150 carb and dont want the hassle. I know i can get a 4 barrel carb and intake for about $540 new or around that price. I am intrigued with the TBI set up. I don't have the time to mess around with the junkyard deal for this is my daily driver and it is in the garage awaiting some love. I have no problem buying a new system i just don't know which one to get. Besides price what is the difference between the Holley set up and the Howell set up. I can get the Holley from Advance for about $843 and the Howell for $1200ish. With the Holley i can also do the HEI set up that i have read about and still be shy of the $1200 mark of Howell. Is Howell worth it. I have just read where putting a qjet on it will be just fine. The jeep is an '86 GW and has the 360 with 117K. It is a DD and will hope to see some recreational mud. Any advice between the two options would be great. I need to get it on the road and would like to do it faster rather than slower. Thanks.
  • ralf
    232 I6
    • Jan 17, 2010

I am looking at the FAST E-Z TBI set up.
    47 CJ2A
    48 CJ2A
    82 J-10
    89 YJ
    99 WJ

Comment

• FSJ Guy
      • Mar 20, 2005

I have no experience with the newer Holley digital units.

I had a Howell TBI system. I now have a MODIFIED Howell TBI which is basically a stock GM system. I use every OEM sensor except for a knock sensor.

For a turnkey system, Howell TBI is very nice.