• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JMRedwine
    232 I6
    • Oct 29, 2010

Newbie!

Good afternoon Gentlemen.

I am a total newbie to the FSJ world, bought my first one this weekend.
    1986 Jeep Grand Wagoneer, rebuilt AMC 360, only aftermarket is a 3.5" suspension lift and some 31" Yokohama off road tires. This thing is glorious! I was a TJ guy for a long time and loved everything about it. Had to leave the Jeep world for a while, and now I finally get to come back. I feel like I came home. I decided to go a little classier this go around, and get the Woody. So far I love it!

So a few newbie questions:

Oil-I can't seem to find it but what kind of oil does this thing take and how much? I'm guessing it holds 5q? How about transmission fluid? how much/what kind?

Next: Here's the biggie; the 4wd is currently inop. I have been told it's the 4wd solenoid and vacuum actuator. Can anyone tell me what steps I need to take to test these out, and maybe link me to some diagrams so i know what the heck I'm looking at? I'm not even sure where that solenoid is?

Thanks guys, I look forward to getting in over my head in the world of Jeep again! Sorry for my 0 knowledge base, I'm sure I'll be cruising these forums a lot trying to learn what I can! Teach me your ways FSJ dudes.

John Mark
    1986 Jeep Grand Wagoneer. Bone stock.

1999 Toyota LandCruiser. Lifted 2" BFG A/T KO
  • argyll1984
    232 I6
    • Oct 22, 2010

Welcome! I'm pretty new to FSJ's myself, I got my 79 J-10 a couple of weeks ago. I'm also a former Wrangler owner. I used to have a YJ and I just sold my CJ-7. There are a lot of very knowledgable, friendly people on here so you should be able to get most of your questions answered. First things first, what kind of tranny and t-case do you have?
    Last edited by argyll1984; 11-01-2010, 12:54 PM.
    1979 J-10: 360 V8/T-18A/D20/D44/D44
    2000 XJ: 4.0 I6/AW4/NP231/D30/D35C

http://s1107.photobucket.com/albums/...t=fa1d077e.jpg

Comment

• RAMBLINFSJ