International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-28-2003, 06:43 AM
jeepthing jeepthing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 18, 2002
Location: Santa Clara,CA
Posts: 223
Question

Ok guys, I posted a thread before regarding my oil pressure gauge. Now, with the oil pressure sending unit wire unplugged and dangling, when I either turn the key to accessory or start the car and run it, the oil pressure gauge is pegged max.

It seems that when I actually plug the wire on it doesn't peg, but goes to zero...it doesn't move from there, just sits at zero all the time.

Any ideas.... Is that the default state of the gauge with the wire unplugged? Did I maybe get the wrong sending unit... maybe the dummy light version or something?

Not sure...
__________________
1991 GW, 130K miles. Sand interior/Silver exterior.<br />TFI upgrade, Accell 8mm wires.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-28-2003, 07:24 AM
mechanic58's Avatar
mechanic58 mechanic58 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 27, 2001
Location: Beverly, Ohio
Posts: 247
Post

Assuming your gauge goes to zero when the key's off...the wire that leads from your sending unit to the gauge is shorted out somewhere. You can bank on it.
__________________
Matt Workman<br />mechanic58@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-28-2003, 07:27 AM
jeepthing jeepthing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 18, 2002
Location: Santa Clara,CA
Posts: 223
Post

What's the best way to locate the short?

I do know that the place where it joins up with other wires about 6 inches from the oil sending unit, the corrugated plastic wrapped around the whole bunch is melted in one spot...looks like a clean melt like it was up against the manifold or something else. Possible in that area it might be messed up.

Also, would it make sense then that when I plug back into the sending unit the gauge goes back to zero if there is a short? Or is the process of me moving the wire and plugging it back in probably temporarily removing the short..

I'll check it out again tomorrow.
__________________
1991 GW, 130K miles. Sand interior/Silver exterior.<br />TFI upgrade, Accell 8mm wires.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2003, 07:32 AM
talntar's Avatar
talntar talntar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 12, 2002
Location: ansonia ct. 06401
Posts: 5,530
Post

i would check that whole melted area and make sure you dont have a fire waiting to happen.good poss. that is where your problem is but good chance that is not the only wire melted,it has to short on something.
__________________
85 gw 215k and still going
castrated(de-wooded)360 2" espo springs 31x10.5
89 gw,free,almost legal

She can dance a Cajun rhythm,Jump like a Willys in four wheel drive,

the world is full of kings and queens who blind your eyes and steal your dreams

"Our militarized "law enforcement" has become the standing army our founders feared"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2003, 08:39 AM
andy d andy d is offline
Shade Tree Shaman
 
Join Date: May 06, 2000
Location: Marshfield,MA
Posts: 7,200
Post

i got that rats nest tied back away from the exhaust with a piece of pot warp looped around the ac hoses. its not very pretty but it works. and i love using stuff i find washed up on the beach [img]smile.gif[/img]
__________________
\'88 gwag,pure stock
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2003, 10:52 AM
lgrjeep lgrjeep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 05, 2002
Location: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Posts: 119
Post

On a late model 86 and later for sure the default reading with the sending unit wire "open" is "pegged". Just went through this on a j10, If the wire was grounded (fully) you would get a zero reading. Temp in at the end of the sending unit wire a resistor of some type, sometimes a test light will work or try a heater blower resistor ground the other end of the test unit and see what you get. If the gauge works, replace the sending unit.
__________________
It wasn\'t broke. We tried to fix it. It still don\'t work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-29-2003, 01:16 PM
Elliott's Avatar
Elliott Elliott is offline
Cowboy Up
 
Join Date: Jun 22, 2002
Location: Pilot Point, TX
Posts: 12,954
Post

Those things are little better then worthless anyway, go hydraulic and run a decent line to the gauge that will flex with the motor rocking to torque and won't melt. Always carry something to cap the sending unit off just incase you blow the line somehow... or 'ya won't be driving out.
jes my .02
__________________
*** I am collecting pics and info on any factory Jeep Dually trucks from the J-Series at the new Jeep Dually Registry.
***I can set you up with hydroboost for your brakes: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=106056
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner