International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > Off-Road FSJ Tech

Old 03-06-2010, 11:50 PM
258 I6

Project TREC Racer

Hello All,

I've been away from the FSJ scene for the past few years, so I thought I'd reintroduce myself as I kick off a project with a buddy of mine. Hopefully you'll like it.

My background is that I bought a 1975 Wagoneer in 1997. I joined the FSJ mailing list shortly after. For the next few years I rebuilt the engine, trans, t-case, axles, re-did the floors, swapped seats, trimmed fenders, and did some light wheeling with it.

With a growing family, lap-only belts, and more interest in building a rockcrawler I lost interest and it's been parked in my barn and getting driven just a few times a year. (booo!)

Recently a buddy raced in the TREC series at Badlands Offroad park in Indiana and said he had a blast and poked at me saying I should put something together. An idea popped into my head about what to race in their "stock" class, and with the stout factory running gear, my interest in building another FSJ was rekindled.

http://www.trecwithus.com/

Not wanting to trash my 75 Wag, I put up an ad on a local board looking for a FSJ that had been bought to be stripped of its running gear. I came up with two Wags in about 2 weeks. After dragging both of them home, we decided the 86 Wag was the better candidate.

The new rules came out a bit ago, and there is now a C-class that we will be running. The rules are pretty basic in this class with the big thing being that you have to run axles sold in that model line (so we can run D27, D30, D44, AMC 20, D60 and maybe even D60/D70 M715 axles if we want to push it). Similar rules are for the rest of the drivetrain, and you can only modify with off the shelf parts. There's more, but that get's the basics down.