• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • lionus88
    230 Tornado
    • Nov 12, 2010

Buying a wagoneer

Hello ya'll! I'm new to the board and new to jeeps. I am planning on buying my first wagoneer tomorrow, been looking forward to this for years. I was just wondering if ya'll had any tips for what to look at before the purchase. I have no experience with them and not very much experience with engines in general (hopefully, ill learn something). would be up for any opinions on it. here is the link. i'm not paying what they are asking, but wouldnt mind any input on how much you would pay for it. supposedly the engine has 20k miles on it. thoughts comments? looking forward to getting to know ya'll.

• HRK
    230 Tornado
    • Nov 02, 2010

Welcome! Just purchased my first Wagoneer on Ebay last week as well.
    '88 Grand Wagoneer...the never-ending project.

Comment

• Perfex
      232 I6
      • Oct 25, 2008

Look at the frame near the drivers side, where the gas tank skid plate is attached to
      In this spot can rust pretty bad

does the tailgate window work?

look for rust

look for a cup holder, not found one on mine yet though
      (glove box doesn't count)

Comment

• Jomax
        232 I6
        • Oct 16, 2010

Well, one key thing is to try and find one with little to no rust, but unless u live in dry climate like me in AZ its nearly impossible i payed 1,000 for mine it needs a paint job and some interior work but the engine was just rebuilt with 8,000 miles and not one spot of rust, the under body is like NEW Good luck and Welcome

Comment

• Jomax
          232 I6
          • Oct 16, 2010

Originally posted by Perfex
          Look at the frame near the drivers side, where the gas tank skid plate is attached to
          In this spot can rust pretty bad

does the tailgate window work?

look for rust

look for a cup holder, not found one on mine yet though
          (glove box doesn't count)