• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • AlwaysInOverMyHead
    230 Tornado
    • Jul 20, 2020

1985 Jeep GW, my first

Hello all, I've been on the forum here for a while now and gotten some good tips and information already. Never officially said hello. I have little overall mechanical knowledge (Focker's a male nurse!) but can follow directions very well. I figured bodywork would be hardest for me to do and after going back and forth for years, I found a 1985 Jeep Grand Wagoner in Florida, had a mobile mechanic check it out, and his evaluation made me buy it. I had it shipped up here to Michigan just in time to put it in the garage for winter. I do not want our liberal salt to degrade it. One rust through spot on a rear quarter, but the underside looks cleaner than my 3 year old minivan. So far I have learned a lot. I TFI upgraded, replaced rear main seal, oil pan gasket, trans pan of course with filter and gasket (got to re-tap 4 holes to get it to tighten), removed all of the interior except the dash, got seat covers from BJs but had somebody sew carpet to match the ACC carpets I bought on the back of the vinyl seats because I love that tacky look, headlight harness upgraded, and am getting ready to swap to the abs plastic trim panels I got from forum member men in black. I am getting a quote on bodywork and a paint job. Haven't seen another gold/honey colored one in person before and thinking of keeping it the same even though I do love the navy and woodgrain look. Anyhow, enough talk. Thank you to all those who have done it before me and shared your knowledge. It is very much appreciated. Hopefully I can learn enough to share one day.

• Waggymcgee
    232 I6
    • Oct 19, 2020

Hey there. Would you mind posting pictures of those seat covers? I love the tacky carpet on them too.
    Kerry (she)

85 GW w/ HD tow pkg

Comment

• fulsizjeep
      Señor Jackhead
      • Aug 21, 2002