Thinking about buying a travel trailer, need advice.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • coloradoluke
    230 Tornado
    • Jul 24, 2016

Thinking about buying a travel trailer, need advice.

So we are thinking of getting a travel trailer, most likely a 1995 Fleetwood Wilderness 24C which is for sale locally here in Victoria, BC. The owner states it is 24 feet, but all my research tells me it is 26 feet, I don't know if that matters.

Also it weighs 4270 pounds according to NADA guides.

It comes with a stout weight distributing hitch along with a sway bar, so all those bases are covered. And the hitch on my 1986 Grand Wagoneer is rated for 5000/10000. As well I have a fresh remaned 360 and transmission, and I added a big tranny cooler.

Anyway, what do you all think about the wagoneer towing it? I likely won't be going too far, usually within 50km. There is minor hills to our preferred camping area.

I drive commerically for a living so I am no stranger to keeping a good following distance (my understanding is that the brakes on grand wagoneers aren't the best). As well the trailer has good brakes.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
    Luke
  • ShagWagon
    350 Buick
    • Apr 10, 2016

Sounds good!

Seems like your ready.

When we going?
    87 GW- Fitech EFI,Fitech FCC,Skyjacker Hydro 4" lift,BFG AT KO2 30",Dynamax muffler,MSD distributor,MSD 6al box,Blaster2 coil,ACCEL 8mm,.045 gap,Edlebrock perf 4bbl intake,Elgin perf cam,HD alum radiator,Powermaster 150alt,Alum HD H2O pump,Serhills tailgate harness,Cowl screen mod,Evil Twin grab handles,Rstep's custom AMC lock knobs

Comment

• joe
      • Apr 28, 2000

What gears in your axles? 86 had optional 3.31's which IMHO are barely adequate for dragging 5000lb on flat ground. You won't like it on hills but doable. If you have the std 2.73 gears you'll hate towing 5000lb.
      joe
      "Don't mind me. I'm just here for the alibi"

Comment

• 72jeeperjoe
        232 I6