International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Old 05-20-2019, 09:12 AM
230 Tornado

NEWBIE INTRO and questions!

Hey everybody!
Been lurking for a long time while I searched for a GW. Been tinkering with land cruisers and 4runners most of my adult life but the wife was always dying for a Wagoneer and I really was intrigued by them the more I read about them. I'm finally at a stage in my life where I could spend a little bit more money up front and buy a project that was nearly finished instead of the other way around but it still needs some love. It's a 89 with 155k, engine replaced 5k miles ago, new paint, new wood grain, completely new interior, tons of other work done to it but the carb was original so guess what died the first week I had it.

Thankfully I'm a service consultant at a GMC dealership and I've got a tech that's willing to work on it(most techs now days are very divaish!) So he's talked me into ordering the FI Tech 4 barrell fuel injection kit, with electric fuel pump, HEI distributor, Edelbrock intake manifold etc.

So few questions from everything I observed so far. Read up a good bit on the fuel injection but any good tips before we tackle this in a few days?

The rear window works fine with the tailgate switch but only up with the dash switch. I've ordered a new dash switch but has anyone run into this?

My biggest issue though is it has a water leak in the driver front floorboard under hard rains. The p.o. replaced the weatherstripping around the driver door but still leaking. The windshield seal appears to be good and looks like an original windshield. Any common areas to check there??

Thanks and super happy to finally be in the GW club!

Pix to come soon.
Old 05-20-2019, 10:53 AM