• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Blake
    304 AMC
    • Dec 22, 2005

Build a waggy with SOA and 37's for $2500

This is not intended to be a complete write up. It's just my experience with the SOA and overall build of my '83 Waggy. This post PROVES that you can go SOA for around 400 bucks.

The jeep drives, steers and handles amazingly well. It sits on the stock axles and leaf springs. I've been driving it around in this configuration for about 3 months now. It has very little body roll (comparitively speaking - it's no sports car). Taken it 'wheeling 3 times. It's my daily driver to and from work. It has the AMC 360 and 727 tranny that gets about 10MPG I also did some minor fender trimming and 3" body lift to fit the 37's. The tires don't rub at all.

I bought and built the ENTIRE jeep for just over 2,500 and did all the work myself. Keep in mind that I am a computer guy and not a mechanic, therefore I possess no special mechanical abilities. I also took my time and got the best deals possible, even got some parts from the local junk yard.

I purchased the Jeep bone stock in December 2005 and started building it right away.

Here is what I did for the SOA:

Stock front vacuum disconnect Dana 44
    • purchased two spring mounts for $20
    • got a longer front CV drive shaft from an 80's XJ with 5 speed tranny - $30 from the junk yard
    • purchased a single high steer arm for $50
    • got a passenger side flat top knuckle from the junkyard for $15
    • had the knuckle tapped for high steer $50
    • new ball joints $100 (I think)
    • lengthend the stock drag link by sleeving it with 1" ID dom (1.5" OD), welding the ends
    • ground the driver side pumkin where the leaf spring perch goes - also had to do some grinding on one side of the perch to make it fit.
    • used the stock ubolts and stock spring plates