International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > Off-Road FSJ Tech

Old 11-19-2009, 02:50 AM

Triagulated 4 link setup????

Hey guys I have a 77 j10 Honcho modified has j20 axles(locked front and rear 5:38's) TH 400 fully built with 2000 stall converter and dana 20 twin sticked, All sitting on 38.5 tsl sx swampers. Getting ready to install m715 axles and want to put the rear on a triagulated 4 link with either coils or coilovers. I have read and read and talked and downloaded calculators on the four link systems and I am still lost on all the anti squat and link half lenght of the top and bottom cross and imaginary line cross above the carb/tranny ??? I am a mechanic by trade and have built eveything myself for my jeeps over the years but this has me second guessing if I really want to spend the time on this kind of setup on my rear suspension or just KISS Keep It Simple Stupid(leaf spring)! Some of the guy have just told me to just build it to what I think and leave room for the links to move forward or back and adjustable links. I just need some KISS instructions/advice/help and maybe some pics to hep me get started and pointed in the right direction! Thanks for all your help.
Old 11-19-2009, 02:53 AM

Triagulated 4 link????

Sorry can't figure out how to put pics on here or I would have some for you guys to look at. Thanks for the help though!
Old 11-19-2009, 05:15 AM
Gear Head

Two options

You got two options...............

1. Search the internet and just do it your way! There is no right way

2. Dont do it.

It took me 15 years to get the rear end on coil springs, I will probably not live long enough to do the front end on coil springs.

I am in the five bananas category!
Cherokee 1981 officially 1974 huh local irony
Gen 1 GM-SB 350 V8 TBI - TH400 - Klune V - Twin stick NP205 w. Nippon shifter