• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Stuartbowen
    232 I6
    • Mar 15, 2015

1986 GW-Restoration+TFI-Slow Build

So, I have a 1986 GW in mostly stock form. Comes stock with 5.9, etc. Rear AMC20. Selectro Hubs in the front. I purchased this from a car auction which my father-in-law owns and operates in TN. My initial investment was pretty low as it has the dreaded frame rot and 180k miles on original powertrain. I have a monthly fun money budget of only $250 to spend on whatever I want, so that will be going directly to the waggy from here on out. My build plan is mostly get it functional and mostly rust-free. I am not trying to do any major mods. With a rusted frame that will be patched, I am under no illusions of this turning into one of those 50k restorations. I just want to make it look good, run reliably, and of the quality that I can take it to some small town car shows and not be too embarrassed by it. I am not a car professional by any means; I am a school teacher. However, I am trying to learn and do most of this on my own with help from here, friends, family, and other forums. I will be going slowly, and any help, comments, or encouragement is appreciated.

Initial plan of progression
    1. Frame Patch-kit from TGW
    2. Engine/Trans removal
    a. seals, cleaning, basic not rebuild overhaul of wear parts
    3. Blast and repaint frame
    4. Running parts-brakes, axles
    5. interior
    a. floor pans, seat stitching, armrest
    6. exterior body

This will take probably a couple years, maybe more, who knows what kind of surprises I will get it. Thanks for the follow.
  • Stuartbowen
    232 I6
    • Mar 15, 2015

So,I got a bunch of odds and ends stuff started today. Wiper arms removed and repainted, plug wires removed, TFI distributor cap and coils mounted, and my new ignition box possibly wired up.