• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • MikeinColorado
    232 I6
    • Sep 19, 2010

death wobble

I watched an absurdly lifted OT vehicle hit a bump in the road and go into a nasty death wobble. I thought he was gonna flip right in front of me.
    I pulled up next to the guy and he looked like he needed clean shorts...
    So...this got me thinkin....
    I want 33s under my wagon....what is the best way to accomplish this and allow me to have a solid driver that will hit the trails in Colorado?
    Swap shackles? Experts...I am a noob ready to listen and learn.
    I'd rather have a bottle infronta me, than a frontal lobotomy. -- D. Parker

1988 Jeep Grand Wagoneer
    1953 Buick Special
    2010 Subaru Legacy
  • turtlejoe
    304 AMC
    • Jun 01, 2002

I've seen a number of Wag's with 33's and even 35's both on San Juan trails and on the street. Can't think of anyone complaining about death wobble. Quality lift kit, all suspension bits and bushings in good condition, proper alignment, shouldn't be a problem. I've got 33's on my W/T Cherokee and have never once had a problem. I only needed 4" of lift because of the larger wheel openings and wider axles, but still - never had a problem.
    Kerry - Raised by Jeep
    "Got Altitude?"
    "Trigger"
    '78 Cherokee Chief WT 33X12.50 BFG A/T's, 15X8 Rockcrawlers, 4" BDS lift, TFI, NOS QT, TH400
    "Sherman"
    1993 4.0L Grand Cherokee, 44HD rear, 4:10's
    "Roxie"
    2004 Rubicon
    "Moose"
    2000 Ford Expedition XLT with 4.6L

Comment

• MikeinColorado
      232 I6
      • Sep 19, 2010

I suppose I should clarify. I know 33s can be done well....the "thing" I saw on the road looked like it was dones 1/2 Great Googley MoogleyGreat Googley MoogleyGreat Googley Moogley. And the result was a very unsafe vehicle.... I've only lowered things.. so... best way to get a 4 inch lift on a wagon? What do the experts say.. What is the safest, best method that will give driveability and still handle the mountains...