International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-07-2019, 07:20 PM
KillyMcGee KillyMcGee is offline
232 I6
 
Join Date: Aug 26, 2019
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 45
Anyone replace Ammeter with a volt meter like this?

Wonder if I could disassemble this:
https://www.amazon.com/Sunpro-CP7985.../dp/B00029JZXM
and replace the Ammeter in my 85.

Or maybe this:
https://www.amazon.com/Bosch-SP0F000...dp/B00UM9XBDC/

Or perhaps someone here has already done it and no need for me to reinvent the wheel
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-07-2019, 09:47 PM
Cecil14's Avatar
Cecil14 Cecil14 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 22, 2001
Location: Carson City, NV
Posts: 5,090
I did it, don't remember exactly what I used. It's been a really long time. It was likely a cheap Sunpro like that one, the face certainly looks similar. Here are pics of mine:









I just shucked the gauge and swapped it in place of the ammeter in the gauge cluster. Just make sure the studs from the new voltmeter do not make contact with the traces on the original board.


I actually did the oil pressure gauge at the same time, replacing it with a mechanical gauge.


Your '85 cluster is going to be a little different from my '83, but it should still work, I would think.
__________________
1983 J-10 - 4.6L(MPFI)/CS130D/Hydroboost/NV3550/D300/44/44/3.54/Disc-Disc/32s/42 gallon 'burb tank
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2019, 01:22 PM
tgreese's Avatar
tgreese tgreese is offline
 
Join Date: May 29, 2003
Location: Medford MA USA
Posts: 11,084
Yes, I used the Sunpro on my J20. Works good. As I recall, I pried open the case and threw away the housing. The holes are in the wrong place, so you have to modify the circuit board some. As Cecil mentions, you have to take care that the circuit board traces stay clear of the voltmeter connections.

This has been covered before, both here an at FSJNetwork.

https://www.bing.com/search?q=site%3....org+voltmeter
https://www.bing.com/search?q=site%3....com+voltmeter
__________________
Tim Reese
Maine beekeeper's truck: '77 J10 LWB, 258/T15/D20/3.54 bone stock, low options (delete radio), PS, hubcaps.
Browless and proud: '82 J20 360/T18/NP208/3.73, Destination ATs, 7600 GVWR
Copper Polly: '75 CJ-6, 304/T15, PS, BFG KM2s, soft top
GTI without the badges: '95 VW Golf Sport 2000cc 2D
ECO Green: '15 FCA Jeep Cherokee KL Trailhawk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2019, 11:36 AM
rang-a-stang's Avatar
rang-a-stang rang-a-stang is offline
360 AMC
 
Join Date: Oct 31, 2016
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 2,818
Here's the write up I followed:
http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showt...ight=voltmeter
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief, barely runs
(Cherokee Build Thread)
11 Nissan Pathfinder Silver Edition 4x4
09 Mazdaspeed3 Grand Touring
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CS144 Upgrade: Rewire or not to Rewire The PIG Smith General FSJ Tech 6 09-04-2011 11:32 PM
volt meter & amp meter combo SALTINE WARRIOR General FSJ Tech 6 07-09-2010 08:28 AM
Ammeter Bypass with Voltmeter install... W O S General FSJ Tech 1 08-29-2007 02:28 PM
Ammeter Bypass additional information... W O S General FSJ Tech 0 08-27-2007 01:12 PM
Ammeter bypass questions... PlasticBoob General FSJ Tech 7 07-27-2003 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner