Would love to be in Ouray in 2010, but...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • JFlu
    232 I6
    • Jun 30, 2009

Would love to be in Ouray in 2010, but...

Hey everyone! I have been looking through previous years trips and my wife and I would love to go!! BUT....first of all I'm fairly new to all of this but I am already addicted. I found a guy selling a 79 Waggy a few months back and decided to do a little research. My search brought me to this site and after spending hours browsing threads I decided I wanted to buy the Waggy and join in the FSJ fun! It turns out it is in great condition with only 28,600 original miles. It belonged to his wife who drove it for 30 years and he had most of the service records plus all the receipts for tune ups and misc things. Never any major work done.

SO.....I was hoping some of you that make this trip often can give me some idea of what I would need to improve, upgrade or add to prepare me for one of these trips. Tomorrow I am replacing all the cooling components with a rad, high flow water pump w/matching stat, fan clutch, and all hoses, etc. from BJs. Where should I focus next? Upgrade carb? Lift and tires? It runs like a top right now with no leaks(sorry) so I believe the 360 and TH400 are solid.

Last edited by JFlu; 08-17-2009, 09:40 AM.

'79 Wagoneer
  • will e
    Always Broke
    • Nov 16, 2001

Hey!

First: WELCOME
    Second: Nice looking rig you got!
    Third: Great looking kid.

Okay, for Ouray. You need low range. You should have that no problem.
    Without a lift (and with that nice rig) you can avoid the one or two more technical trails and still see so much beautiful scenery that you won't be able to believe your eyes. Even the difficult ones can be done with a mild lift, some 31"tires and some experience. But there are LOTS of places to got that are basically dirt roads or just a bit worse.