International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > Introduce Yourself.

Old 09-30-2019, 07:51 PM
230 Tornado

New to forum

Hello! Glad to be joining the forum. I bought a 1988 grand wagoneer last year from a neighbor. He was the first owner, all original. He had kept it up pretty well until the last 3 years it was sitting in his drive. I am an amateur mechanic trying to learn as I go. I have got it up and running, new fuel pump, rebuilt original carb, new radiator and water pump, new starter. My biggest current issues have been a no crank/no start issue when it is getting hot, and the transmission is leaking. Also contemplating whether I should beef up the 360 or if I should try to keep it all original.

[IMG]Sideview jeep by mtn eer, on Flickr[/IMG]

[IMG]Rearview jeep by mtn eer, on Flickr[/IMG]

[IMG]Christmas jeep by mtn eer, on Flickr[/IMG]
Old 10-01-2019, 05:43 PM
350 Buick

Welcome!

Cool plates!

Whether to beef up the 360 or keep original is really up to you and what you want out of the rig. If a daily driver or average use, then there should not be a lot of need to beef it up, per se. Initial focus is to get it running reliably. After that you can get a better feel for whether or not you think it is adequate for your needs or if you think you need to add some beef to the plate.

Is the no crank/no start after it's been running and hot or just hot weather in your area? There are common vapor issues with these rigs, and if you search for the symptoms on the forum here you'll probably find lots of discussion that may help you narrow down your real problem.

Feel free to ask questions as you go along. People can either directly help or give you links to previous discussion on topics. Also, use the search feature here well and you'll find lots of past points to learn from.