clear coat question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• clear coat question

i plan on painting my 87 GW in the spring and was wondering what to do about the clear coat. i want to keep the factory smoke grey color. i just want to put a fresh coat to cover the blue parts from the donor 85 GW. i plan on doing this myself, so please give me any paint tricks. thanks in advance.

------------------
    87 Grand wagoneer (stock, for now)
    85 Grand Wagoneer LTD (soon to be parts beast)
    NP 208
    Warn Locking Hubs
    15x8 Black RockCrawlers
    And still piling up parts
  • WINGO
    327 Rambler
    • May 06, 2000

A few years ago I started painting my vehicles.

My first project was a ground up restoration on a '79 Harley.

This fall I will be painting my GW.

A good reference book that should be able to buy at any large parts store is, Automotive Body Repair & Painting Manual, Haynes (part # 1479)

Good Luck!

------------------
    WINGO
    Vineland, NJ
    USA
    1984 GW 360
    <b>WINGO</b><br />Vineland, NJ<br />USA<br /> 1984 GW 360 <br />Front Axle: \'79 W/T, SOA<br />Rear Axle: \'80 W/T, Riverbeast Kit<br />Body: 3 \" Body Lift<br />Transfer case: \'82 CJ, Twin Stick Dana 300<br />Wheels: Stock Rims w/ 31\" X 10.5\" Kelly MT<p>A good reason to buy Todd\'s kit!<br />http://imaget.webphotos.iwon.com/100...PM0.601864.jpg

Comment

• Marc_01
      327 Rambler
      • May 10, 2000

Clearing a car is best left to the pros, unless you have access to a paint booth. My friend is a painter and clearing a car out side or even in a garage would be a nightmare and a waste of money. That clear would have more dirt in it than you could imagine. But it could be done in such a way to limit the dirt and dust.

1. You will need a quality paint gun, one that has never shot paint before would be best. The pro's use one gun for clear and one for base (your color).

2. Clean your garage or where ever you going to paint.

3. Drape plastic everywhere posible.