• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Dome
    304 AMC
    • Apr 06, 2000

1979 Cherokee - Michael Baxter

Michael writes:

I have been driving my Cherokee for 9 years now. I bought it used in 1986 with 34,000 miles on the odometer. It has 95,000 today. I don't drive it much and it has been garaged since new. I was thinking of buying a new 4x4 a few years ago and after shopping, I decided I could make my Cherokee everything I ever dreamed of for a lot less money than a new one was going to cost me.

It currently has a stock AMC 360 V-8 with Doug Thorley Tri-Y headers, a TH-400 automatic transmission, and a part-time converted (Mile Marker w/o overdrive) Quadra-Trac transfer case. It also has factory air conditioning and cruise control. The axles are Dana 44s front and rear with 3.54 gears. Tires are 31"x10.5"x15"s on the factory 8" white spoke wheels. I'm planning on swapping the engine with an AMC 401 that I'm building-up in my garage. The 401 came out of a ''76 Wagoneer that I junked for parts. One goal for my new 401 will be 20 MPG solo on the highway (I've seen it done with a full-size Chevy Blazer with 33s and a 350...actually, the Blazer got 21 MPG).

I also have a '79 Wagoneer that has been in my family since new. It kind of became mine after no one wanted to drive it any more but, no one wants to get rid of "old reliable" either. Now, they're excited about it's restoration. I just finished replacing all the weather stripping on and around the tailgate. It has 155,000 miles and has never required anything but regular maintenance except for having to replace a front axle u-joint.