International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > Fuel Injection

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 11-02-2011, 04:58 PM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,437
I got the harness re-pinned this morning, you were right took ~30 minutes.
Most of which was labeling the wires, and double/triple checking proper locations when swapping them.

No tuning yet, need to see if the PCM actually works before I bother with that.

Maybe tomorrow I'll have time to plug it in, and see if I can communicate with the PCM.
If everything checks out, I'll try to start it just to see if it'll run.
__________________
Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) and '90 GW (aka JUNKbucket) both fuel injected
1994 Caprice wagon
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-02-2011, 05:22 PM
JeepsAndGuns's Avatar
JeepsAndGuns JeepsAndGuns is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jul 18, 2003
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 4,566
What tuning software do you have? I have tunerpro rt version 5 and I love it.
The bcc you have should be $0D codemask. So you will need that defination for the bin file and datastream. The $42 codemask from the old 7747 will no longer work.
You will need to either cut the old chip off your memcal and soder in a zif socket, or get the moates memcal header and soder a 27SF512 directly in place of the old eprom.
I posted all the links on the first post. I have the moates G1 adapter and love it, that way I didnt have to do anything to the stock memcal, other than plug it into the adapter.

Definately keep us updated, I'm intrested in seeing how yours turns out. Like I said, untill you get a better timing map in there, it probably wont run the best. The stock chevy timing table in the ones I looked at was real weak. And probably check engine light without the trans hooked up.
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief 401/T18/D20, MPFI fuel injection, hydroboost, otherwise stock.
Future mods: Caddy 500/NV4500/NP205, HP D60 front D60 smooth botom rear, 5.13 gears, 35x12.50's on H1 beadlock wheels. Warn M12000 winch.
93 Wrangler 4.6 stroker/AX15/NP231,SYE,CV, OME 2.5 lift, front hub conversion/big brakes, 31X10.50's Warn M10000 winch.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-03-2011, 10:14 AM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,437
Downloaded latest version of TunerproRT...

Hooked everything up, checked some things out.
However I cannot communicate with the PCM via my ALDL cable anymore.
Worked fine the other day w/ old 7747 ECM.
Checked F9 pin, was in the right spot.

If I ground A14 I get codes, but still no communication.

Is there something different between the two?

I did start it, and it runs, but obviously need to communicate with it.

EDIT:
Looks like I need a new ALDL cable
Bummer, I have a bunch I made looks like the baud difference is the kicker.
Looking around online found a schematic for one.
Looks like a visit to radioshack is in the near future.
__________________
Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) and '90 GW (aka JUNKbucket) both fuel injected
1994 Caprice wagon

Last edited by babywag : 11-03-2011 at 01:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-03-2011, 05:38 PM
JeepsAndGuns's Avatar
JeepsAndGuns JeepsAndGuns is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jul 18, 2003
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 4,566
Tunerpro RT is da bomb!
I have the moates autoprom and also love it. I didnt have to do anything other than plug in the aldl cabe and hit connect (after loading the correct defination file onto tunerpro)
So you have a home made aldl cable? Did your old one just crap out on you, or is there something not compatable? Like I said, I didnt have to do anything but plug it in, but it might be because I have the autoprom?

Glad to hear it runs and everything works! Now the fun part, tuning!!
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief 401/T18/D20, MPFI fuel injection, hydroboost, otherwise stock.
Future mods: Caddy 500/NV4500/NP205, HP D60 front D60 smooth botom rear, 5.13 gears, 35x12.50's on H1 beadlock wheels. Warn M12000 winch.
93 Wrangler 4.6 stroker/AX15/NP231,SYE,CV, OME 2.5 lift, front hub conversion/big brakes, 31X10.50's Warn M10000 winch.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-03-2011, 08:54 PM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepsAndGuns
So you have a home made aldl cable? Did your old one just crap out on you, or is there something not compatable? Like I said, I didnt have to do anything but plug it in, but it might be because I have the autoprom?

Glad to hear it runs and everything works! Now the fun part, tuning!!

My old cable was restricted to 160 baud for older ECM(s).
I'm sure it still works, just won't with the 7427.

Runs is a good thing, not sure if everything works yet due to lack of communication.

EDIT:
Success...sort of.
Made a new cable, then my laptop hard drive failed and it wouldn't boot anymore.
Replaced it and reloaded XP, but I lost everything on that hard drive, which REALLY sucks
All my tuning stuff bookmarks, downloaded files, apps, utilities, lots of info.
Only used it for this stuff so it could have been worse I guess.
I can communicate with the PCM now. YAY!
Still need to figure out some things though.
1) VSS which one do I need now, and what changes if any to wiring.
2) Knock sensor, still need to buy/install the new style one.
3) Getting a lot of DA errors when connected will need to research this.

Here's a shot from Tunerpro RT though.
__________________
Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) and '90 GW (aka JUNKbucket) both fuel injected
1994 Caprice wagon

Last edited by babywag : 11-04-2011 at 12:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-04-2011, 08:34 AM
chrism chrism is offline
327 Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 07, 2002
Location: Derby, NY
Posts: 634
For a cable this is what I am using:
http://www.superdroidrobots.com/shop...px?itemid=1173

Heres a link to my post over on the tunerpro forum on how to hook it up:
http://forum.tunerpro.net/viewtopic.php?t=2399
__________________
1979 Cherokee
1979 CJ-7
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-04-2011, 05:46 PM
JeepsAndGuns's Avatar
JeepsAndGuns JeepsAndGuns is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jul 18, 2003
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 4,566
That sucks aboutyour laptop! I to would be hurting if I lost my data too!

Glad you do it connected and working.
Whats these DA errors you speak of? What are your refering to when you say DA?

Log screen looks for the most part ok. Only thing I see, is there are no IAC counts while your idleing. Is your throttle adjusted closed enough? Everything I read said to adjust the min setting on the throttle blades to where its 100 rpm below your target idle speed, with the iac all the way closed.
Your TPS voltage looks good.
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief 401/T18/D20, MPFI fuel injection, hydroboost, otherwise stock.
Future mods: Caddy 500/NV4500/NP205, HP D60 front D60 smooth botom rear, 5.13 gears, 35x12.50's on H1 beadlock wheels. Warn M12000 winch.
93 Wrangler 4.6 stroker/AX15/NP231,SYE,CV, OME 2.5 lift, front hub conversion/big brakes, 31X10.50's Warn M10000 winch.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-05-2011, 12:22 AM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,437
The DA errors keep popping up on the bottom status block for ALDL connection.
Where it says DA: Not Connected/Connected
Don't know if it's my crappy laptop, homemade cable, or ?
Found a lot of references online to people with a similar/same issue with v5 of tunerpro.
Doesn't seem to effect anything just bugs me.

Rained today, so worked on the memcal.
Unsoldered and removed the stock chip, read the bin, made a few changes, burned a new chip, and soldered it to the memcal.
(Wanted to keep the esc module/limp mode resistor packs)
Ordered a Moates header, so I'll be able to burn different bins to it.

Holy cow there is a lot in there vs. the old 7747 ecm!
__________________
Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) and '90 GW (aka JUNKbucket) both fuel injected
1994 Caprice wagon
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-05-2011, 05:40 PM
JeepsAndGuns's Avatar
JeepsAndGuns JeepsAndGuns is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jul 18, 2003
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 4,566
Heck yea there is a lot of stuff in there! It took me a few weeks of looking over everything in the bin before I got brave enough to swap it in.
Best thing I did was to go to view, and hit paramiter comments. A box pops up the size of your datalog dash, simply reduce the size to a inch or so at the bottom of the screen. Then any time you click on a paramiter, the comments for it appear in that box. That way you dont have to try and read the mini box that pops up with the mouse and disappears before you get done reading it...lol
I followed the directions in the ADX read me at the top of the scalers to set up the datalog to read timing and fuel useage correctly.
There was also a flag that switches it from electronic trans mode over to manual trans/non computer automatics. It has a comment about a table that must be set to all zeros, so I did that too. I also turned off all trouble codes for the trans. Next I entered my cylinder volume and injector flow rates, so the pcm can properly calculate the BPW's. You will need to know what size your injectors are and what psi you are running them at to calculate what they are flowing. I entered my base timing, turned off egr and ccp, and the related trouble codes.
I then went to (cant remember where, somewhere twards the right, on the same line "file is on) and opened a 2nd instance of tunerpro. I them loaded up my old 7747 bin with my timing table I built. I pulled up the timing table in both of them and copy and pasted where I could. There are rpm and map areas in the 7747 the 7427 doesnt have, and vice-versa. So I filled in where I could, then brought up the 3d map and manually filled in the gaps to smooth it over. I then saved it, then copy and pasted it into the 2nd timing map in the 7427 bin. That way both were the same.
I then went and did just a little bit of manual smoothing to the two fuel maps to just give it a better base to start tuning with.
There is also a flag or scaler (cant remember witch one) but its called something like VSS signal not from drac. You want to set that, so the pcm knows the vss signal is coming right from the vss and not the drac/buffer module. After doing that and connecting the vss to the correct pin on the pcm, my old two pulse vss I was using with my 7747 system works with the 7427 just fine, and even reads correct.

Never had that DA error or anything of the sorts happen to me. strange.

keep us updated on how the tuning goes. Only took me about 5-6 logs to get my fuel maps to where they need to be.
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief 401/T18/D20, MPFI fuel injection, hydroboost, otherwise stock.
Future mods: Caddy 500/NV4500/NP205, HP D60 front D60 smooth botom rear, 5.13 gears, 35x12.50's on H1 beadlock wheels. Warn M12000 winch.
93 Wrangler 4.6 stroker/AX15/NP231,SYE,CV, OME 2.5 lift, front hub conversion/big brakes, 31X10.50's Warn M10000 winch.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-05-2011, 07:52 PM
FSJ Guy FSJ Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 20, 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 10,062
Good to know that I don't need the DRAC!
__________________
Ethan Brady
1987 Grand Wagoneer, slightly longer than stock.

www.bigscaryjeep.com

Don't mess with me. I once killed a living hinge.
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 11-06-2011, 06:28 AM
JeepsAndGuns's Avatar
JeepsAndGuns JeepsAndGuns is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jul 18, 2003
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 4,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by FSJ Guy
Good to know that I don't need the DRAC!

You still might, just depends on what VSS you are running.
All the info I kept reading said I would need a 4 pulse sine wave vss for this ecm. I have the 2 pulse square wave from JTR.
After talking to a few guys online, I found out about that input not from drac, and also found I was using the wrong pin on the pcm. I set the flag and swapped pins, thinking it was either gonna not work at all (wrong signal type) or read half what the pcm is expected. Mutch to my surprise, when I swapped pins and hooked up the laptop, it worked just fine and even read the correct speed!
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief 401/T18/D20, MPFI fuel injection, hydroboost, otherwise stock.
Future mods: Caddy 500/NV4500/NP205, HP D60 front D60 smooth botom rear, 5.13 gears, 35x12.50's on H1 beadlock wheels. Warn M12000 winch.
93 Wrangler 4.6 stroker/AX15/NP231,SYE,CV, OME 2.5 lift, front hub conversion/big brakes, 31X10.50's Warn M10000 winch.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-06-2011, 09:14 AM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,437
Are you using pin F13?
I also have the JTR vss.
__________________
Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) and '90 GW (aka JUNKbucket) both fuel injected
1994 Caprice wagon
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 11-06-2011, 01:57 PM
FSJ Guy FSJ Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 20, 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 10,062
I'm running the 2PRS from JTR, too.
__________________
Ethan Brady
1987 Grand Wagoneer, slightly longer than stock.

www.bigscaryjeep.com

Don't mess with me. I once killed a living hinge.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11-06-2011, 06:14 PM
JeepsAndGuns's Avatar
JeepsAndGuns JeepsAndGuns is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jul 18, 2003
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 4,566
Quote:
Originally Posted by babywag
Are you using pin F13?
I also have the JTR vss.

Yep. I had originally had it on pin F12 and it didnt work. Switched to pin F13 and it works!
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief 401/T18/D20, MPFI fuel injection, hydroboost, otherwise stock.
Future mods: Caddy 500/NV4500/NP205, HP D60 front D60 smooth botom rear, 5.13 gears, 35x12.50's on H1 beadlock wheels. Warn M12000 winch.
93 Wrangler 4.6 stroker/AX15/NP231,SYE,CV, OME 2.5 lift, front hub conversion/big brakes, 31X10.50's Warn M10000 winch.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11-09-2011, 07:16 PM
FSJ Guy FSJ Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 20, 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 10,062
One step closer, here, too. I just picked up two PCMs today.

So, by looking at the online stuff, I don't need to pop out anything from the memcal, correct?

I can just get the moates adapter and plug the memcal in and then plug the adapter into the PCM, yes?

I lightly pried on the chip and quickly realized that it doesn't come out. It actually looks like it's soldered in dow there. GM wasn't messing around I guess.
__________________
Ethan Brady
1987 Grand Wagoneer, slightly longer than stock.

www.bigscaryjeep.com

Don't mess with me. I once killed a living hinge.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11-09-2011, 08:43 PM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,437
Come on live dangerously...





Wasn't too terribly hard to remove it/replace it.

I got sidetracked, so not quite there yet.
Cleaning up my wiring under the hood.
Removed my heater box, and rerouted the factory engine harness away from the engine.
Found some sub par wiring when I pulled it out of the loom.
Had to lengthen the oil/coolant/ac wires, everything else luckily was long enough.
Removed all the old duraspark wiring.

Cleaning up my TBI harness too, and mounted a relay panel on the firewall.
Still need to get my in tank fuel pump finished as well.
__________________
Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) and '90 GW (aka JUNKbucket) both fuel injected
1994 Caprice wagon
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 11-09-2011, 09:01 PM
FSJ Guy FSJ Guy is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 20, 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 10,062
Your soldering (and desoldering!) skills are apparently better than mine!

I just ordered the GP3 switcher package with the larger 32 pin chip and ZIF (I already have the remote switcher from my 7747 ECM) and the header to read the stock chip. I know, I don't really need the header, but since I have two stock chips, I'd like to see what they have on them.
__________________
Ethan Brady
1987 Grand Wagoneer, slightly longer than stock.

www.bigscaryjeep.com

Don't mess with me. I once killed a living hinge.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-09-2011, 10:22 PM
babywag's Avatar
babywag babywag is offline
out of order
 
Join Date: Jun 08, 2005
Location: Land of froot loops and cukcoo-nuts, CA
Posts: 9,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrism
For a cable this is what I am using:
http://www.superdroidrobots.com/shop...px?itemid=1173

Heres a link to my post over on the tunerpro forum on how to hook it up:
http://forum.tunerpro.net/viewtopic.php?t=2399

THANKS! for the tip.
Got mine today, and it works beautifully
No more constant errors.
__________________
Tony
'88 GW (aka Babywag) and '90 GW (aka JUNKbucket) both fuel injected
1994 Caprice wagon
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 11-10-2011, 07:03 AM
JeepsAndGuns's Avatar
JeepsAndGuns JeepsAndGuns is offline
AMC 4 OH! 1
 
Join Date: Jul 18, 2003
Location: Cullman, AL
Posts: 4,566
Yea you can get the moates G1 adapter and all you do is plug in the stock memcal into it, then plug it into the pcm. It then has a zif socket for the eeprom. Nice little package if you ask me. I love mine.

I too just did what you did, I took a stock memcal I had and removed the stock chip, and installed a 27SF512 in its place. Then I can use the moates memcal header to program it. Havent had a chance to fire up the laptop and check my sodering skills...lol
But it is kinda a pain to do. Stock chip is sodered in place, and the spots to soder are tiny! I had to buy a spare sodering iron tip and file it down to a finer point so I could get it in there to do it!
__________________
79 Cherokee Chief 401/T18/D20, MPFI fuel injection, hydroboost, otherwise stock.
Future mods: Caddy 500/NV4500/NP205, HP D60 front D60 smooth botom rear, 5.13 gears, 35x12.50's on H1 beadlock wheels. Warn M12000 winch.
93 Wrangler 4.6 stroker/AX15/NP231,SYE,CV, OME 2.5 lift, front hub conversion/big brakes, 31X10.50's Warn M10000 winch.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 11-10-2011, 08:47 AM
chrism chrism is offline
327 Rambler
 
Join Date: Apr 07, 2002
Location: Derby, NY
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by babywag
THANKS! for the tip.
Got mine today, and it works beautifully
No more constant errors.

Excellent! Make sure you go into the driver settings and change the latency from 16 to 1. You don't necessarily need to but it boosted my sampling frequency a bit.
__________________
1979 Cherokee
1979 CJ-7
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steering colum swap question derf General FSJ Tech 15 02-04-2010 09:01 AM
Muncie SM465, GM 10 bolt 8.5, GM 14 bolt 10.5 and NP 208 swap Chris Barry General FSJ Tech 9 02-26-2007 03:25 PM
my experiences with a 14bolt swap into a cheif malodin Off-Road FSJ Tech 7 01-31-2007 10:54 PM
Turning Radius, Pitman arm? Steering swap. Louiseven General FSJ Tech 5 11-30-2006 12:25 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner