X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Stuka
    • Jan 21, 2001

258 carb options....

Ok, I am fed up with the stupid BBD already. So I have decided to look for carbs elsewhere. Here is what I came up with:

That is a progressive webber that I think would work quite well. That kit is for a CJ/YJ, so it should work fine on my J10.

onn the 2nd part of my question: anybody here have a 81 chero/wag/J10 with a 258? I need to find out if its normal to have the computer there, but not plugged into the distributer.
  • brielly
    350 Buick
    • Dec 30, 2002

Ive been running the weber for a couple months now and I love it. More power, easier starts, better gas mileage and it was easy to install. That combined with a msd blaster coil and its like a new vehicle. Dont bother with the air cleaner adaptor-with the new mounting plate and adaptor the carb sat too high to keep the stock air cleaner. Its runs much better with the k&N set up anyway. As far as the computer goes- are you talking about the one under the dash?
    For Sale Custom built reproduction Rhino Grilles http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showt...24#post1676924PM me for details or email [email protected]

1982 Cherokee Chief 258 6 cyl, AX-15, NP208, mopar mpfi, hydroboost brakes.

1983 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 258 6cyl*SOLD*

Comment

• Jeepzilla
      258 I6
      • Dec 29, 2001

I have the 258 I6 BBD on my 81 Cherokee. The only thing that plugs into my distributor is the output from the ignition module. 'Course mine is a 49 state model...

[ March 31, 2003, 06:58 PM: Message edited by: Jeepzilla ]
      \'81 Cherokee \"Gollum\", 258 with TFI ignition, 4-speed, stock drivetrain.<br /><br />\"We spend our lives full of it. What hurts is the discovery of how much and for how long.\"

Comment

• joe
        • Apr 28, 2000

Go with the Weber. I've run one in the past on a 258 and have one sitting on my shelf soon to go on my present 258. Good carb. Like Brielly mentioned go with the K&N filter too.