• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bruner1981jpce
    350 Buick
    • Apr 23, 2011

Capability/General Questions about Cherokee

I've seen threads like this regarding the 360 engine, but have't found any regarding the 258. I'm fairly new to the FSJ's (my Cherokee is my first 4x4 as well) and I don't really know where to start. Its a 1981 Cherokee Laredo with a 258 I6, Carter BBD, Model 176 transmission and Model 208 transfer case. Dana 44 front and AMC 20 rear, both with 3.73 gear ratio (or so the plate on the 44 says, like I said, I'm new to this and don't know too much or what to believe). Stock height as far as I know (any way for me to check?). 31x10.50 tires. So basically bone stock. How capable is this setup for minor offroading (no crawling, but some small rocks)? This is my DD, so I don't want to damage the body. Should I look into buying/fabbing some kind of skid plates?

Also, this Jeep sat for 15 years before I bought it and got it running again. Any upgrades/fixes I should look into, any parts to check on (without tearing apart the entire engine/rebuilding)?

Lastly, it started to run a lot colder today than it ever has before (in the green, but almost at the line separating the black from the green; normally runs about halfway in the green). Didn't build up to this, just started running like this. I think its the thermostat, but my dad says its not a big deal and I shouldn't worry about it. What do you guys think?

Sorry for so many questions all at once. Thanks in advance for your responses.
    Andy
    '81 Cherokee Laredo W/T 258/Weber 32/36 DGEV/HEI/176/208 AMC 20/Dana 44 3.31 gears
    Status: Work in progress Miles: Less than 140K (as of the talk with the original/previous owner) "The Jeffrey"

Build Thread: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=151814 New pics: 5/18/12
  • jeepjseries
    350 Buick
    • May 30, 2009