Best way to get Front disk brakes in a 64 Gladiator?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • crypto
    230 Tornado
    • Aug 20, 2011

Best way to get Front disk brakes in a 64 Gladiator?

All: Ive got a 64 gladiator Ive been working on for 2 years, here what she looks like these days:

This heavy-Great Googley MoogleyGreat Googley MoogleyGreat Googley Moogley truck with 33"s on it doesnt stop very well with the 4-wheel drums it has on it, despite them having all new hardware in them.

Has anyone done a brake swap in something like this before?

The obvious answer of "swap the front axle" is a no-go because of a few problems:

1. passenger side diff drop means the transfer case would have to go.
    2. closed knuckles and kingpin means the steering gear would have to go too.

I'm looking to get disks on this thing with a minimum amount of rework.

Ive seen the FSJ disk conversion that B.J.'s Off-road sells, but I dont want to pay $700 for it plus a master cylinder and balancer, and its got custom rotors so I'd be screwed if I put a big gouge in one.

So, anyone with some advice whos been-there-done-that would be greatly appreciated.
  • Tornado230
    350 Buick
    • Sep 14, 2008

Haven't done this, but have researched some options.
    This one will require a ring and pinion change, but it will give you an open knuckle axle.
    You will have to overcome some obstacles, since your front end now has spring over the axle.

Comment

• Mikel
      • Aug 09, 2000

How about something simple like adding hydroboost or a double diaphragm vac booster from a J20?

I am one of those who believe a newer axle will give you the most bang for the buck.
      1969 M715 6x6
      1963 J300 Swivel frame

Comment

• 44BZ
        304 AMC
        • Dec 10, 2009