• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jowersgd
    232 I6
    • Apr 08, 2001

Starting questions

Hi, I'm fairly new to the FSJ thing, I've had an '89 grand wagoneer (72K) for a little over a month now. Before I bought this car I didn't know anything about car repair, like everyone else, by necessity I'm learning very quickly. I've also never had a carbureted car before. I've got a few questions about starting this beast in the mornings. In the morning I press the accelerator once. Turn the key and sometimes it fires right up. Other times it fires up, goes for about 2 seconds then dies. It always fires up after a few seconds of cranking on the next try. After that, for the rest of the day I can just turn the key without touching the pedal and it fires right up (w/no cranking). I've searched most of the posts in the last year and have seen that many folks have the exact same thing happen to them. I'm thinking about trying differnt ways of starting it in the mornings, once I understand how these things work. For instance: when the engine is flooded and you start it while you hold the accelerator to the floor, what does this do and why does it work? What is going on when you press the pedal in about an inch or two and start it? Why do some folks have to depress the pedal several times before starting? When the engine is cranking without firing up, is it pulling more gas in?

I hope my questions make sense. Maybe someone can benefit from them too. Thanks,
    Jerry
    Jerry<BR>1989 Grand Wagoneer<BR>TFI
  • jeepbob
    Jeep Idiot
    • Jan 16, 2001

Welcome to the world of old school tech.