More stroker build questions (getting closer)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • IslanderOffRoad
    258 I6
    • Feb 04, 2006

More stroker build questions (getting closer)

The next chapter has begun in my engine build. I have some money now so I can get started on the stroker, and I was thinking of having a shop build the long block for me...

Until I started getting prices. A local place wanted $2500 to build a stroker, not quite as much as Golen or Hesco, and no shipping, but still more than I wanted to spend. At 2500 plus the other parts, I'm back into Chevy V8 swap territory.

As such, it looks like I'll be picking up a junkyard 4.0 and building it myself... I've never done an engine before, so I'm a bit hesitant, but it seems like it may be better for my wallet.

So the question is, what should I start with? Everything needs to come apart anyways to do the stroker, so is a "low mileage" engine really an issue? Only thing I can think then is that the head wouldn't need any work. A local yard has a 93 Complete Engine for $550 with 100k on it. Higher mileage than I think I'd want. I've also got access to a 93 short block with a melted piston for $100, the block is fine. An ebay company has rebuilt HO heads for $300. Would that be a better way to go since I'll probably end up replacing the bad parts anyway?

What should I use as a good aid for building the engine? 4.0 manual? 4.2 manual?

Any help is appreciated, this is probably the biggest project I've ever considered undertaking.
    John V
    94 Cherokee Sport 4x4

06 Honda Accord SE 5spd- The Daily Ricer
  • JeepsAndGuns
    AMC 4 OH! 1
    • Jul 18, 2003