International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-10-2005, 06:50 AM
ddjjeep ddjjeep is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 04, 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Post

I know that a mis-adjusted kickdown linkage can lead to cluch slippage but can I leave the kick down lever unhooked completely? Im installing a 727 in a CJ7 and Im not ready to (nor do I have) hook up the kickdown linkage. I would like to run the vehicle afterwards and make sure everything is working OK. If I leave the kickdown lever in its static position will I avoid any internal damage?

Also, on a side note, does anyone know which port would be best to instal a trany temp sensor in? Or should I weld a bung into the pan and put it there?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-10-2005, 10:30 AM
HARDCORE pacer's Avatar
HARDCORE pacer HARDCORE pacer is offline
Master Mechanic
 
Join Date: Feb 07, 2005
Location: usona alberta
Posts: 877
Post

Just tie the arm on the tranny for the linkage forward this will give you maximum pressure for driving.CIIW but if you leave it static you could slip the clutches at peak power alsowhen you are wheeling if you dont tie the linkage forward it will want to shift into high gear at low RPM unless you manually shift it then it is still a low pressure concern. What about modifying a cable to make the kickdown work you could buy a bike cable with the crimp on ends and it would be easy to modify a throttle cable bracket to work underneath. Just a thought.
__________________
78 pacer on 75 chero frame thats shortened 10\" and shackle reversal, D60 front with spool,14ff with detroit locker 4.56s in both,500 hp/500 ftlb torque 401,built 727,208 to divorced 205 doubler,on 46x21 ag tires
78 cj 360, 3spd, scout 44s with detroits SOAed with 36"tsl and beadlocks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-10-2005, 10:37 AM
ddjjeep ddjjeep is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 04, 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 8
Post

thanks, that was the info I am looking for. The trany has a transgo shift kit installed, so I should be able to manualy shift it and just hold it in gear.
I just wanted to make sure that I am not going to be damaging the trany if I try it with out it hooked up. I think I will just buy a Lokar kickdown cable asm. in the future, but wanted to see if the rig will move tonight. It wont be driven any distance or on the road at all, just in and out of the shop for now.

thanks, Dan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner