• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • desert_freak
    350 Buick
    • Dec 25, 2000

Someone Explain the Diff. 4wd Systems Please

Yes I am new to the 4x4 world and have questions about the different systems offered and their abilities. I want to understand them all before I purchase my first Jeep. Please don't laugh at my questions I have never even used 4wd on a vehicle before.

1. Do all systems have locking hubs that need to be engaged for 4wd and disengaged to freewheel?

2. Which systems(and the years offered on Wags)are able to be engaged from inside the cab (and do you have to lock the hubs first).

3. How are each system engaged (rolling in N 2-5mph, at any speed, etc.)

4. Which systems offered 4low on the Wags and which years.

5. Any other info that may help me better understand the various systems, their operation and their limitations.

I hope this is not the umpteenth time these questions have been asked but I did search the topics for a comprehensive listing but was unable to find one.

From what I have read I think staying away from the NP229 sounds like a good idea. I have read the Tech Article Section for the transfer case listings but don't understnd the difference between the NP-208, NP-219, NP-228, BW-1339.

I understand that the BW-1305 doesn't have low range but does the D20?

I would like to do some 4-wheeling into the back country with the family and friends.

I know it's a huge question but the Engineer in me needs to know research the heck out of everything so I can make an informed decision.

Thanks in advance all.

------------------
    '74 J10, Soon SBC/700R4/208 on 35's
    '90 Wagoneer/Klune/208/SOA w/Custom Spring Hangers/HP D44 Alloy USA Axles/14 Bolt/Locked F&R/37" MTRs on H2 Rims/BJ's Bumpers/Custom Rock Sliders/Tad Rack...

<BLOCKQUOTE>quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by desert_freak: