• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Tim smith
    232 I6
    • Jun 02, 2005

Vacuum mess, Emissions, and carbs questions

I am new to the SFJ world. I have a bunch of questions.

I have an 80 chero WT, 360, 727, 4x4. I am pretty sure it is stock. 94K miles. New tranny rebuild. I tore the carb down and unvarnished the inside and put it back together. It runs and drives but doesn't idle. Not sure what else will help to answer the questions. I did search and nothing really helped. I have been reading all the tech stuff too but I haven't gotten all the way through it yet.

First, what are the two metal lines that go from the carb to the intake manifold? They are brazed/welded to a little plate on the manifold. One of mine is rusted in two and the other is probably leaking. I do not know if they effect anything because they have always been in two.

Second, I want to run this on propane in the future, so I want to remove all the smog equipment and simplify the vacuum lines to the minimum need to run. What can I remove? Do I need to get any block off plates? If so from where or do I need to make them?

Third, why won't it idle. I have adjusted the idle screw (the one that pushes the throttle cable cam to a more open position) to were the motor wont stall but it sounds like it is about 1200 rpms. I have an adjustment screw on the left lower front of the carb that I haven't touched, but I didn't see one on the right side (without the brether cover and stuff on it).

Fourth, has anyone cut the roof off the FS Chero to get a Bronco type look? It has cancer bad and I am thing of cutting the entire back off, just behind the doors and make a flat bed on the frame. I will close off the cab so it is like a pick-up.

Shed some light for me please.