International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2005, 02:29 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

I trie to bring the wiring of my '79 cherokee back to original ( after 4 previous owners)and I just can not find the headlamps fuse.

I assume that it is in the fuse box onder the dash, but when I take out all the fuses my headlamps still work.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-27-2005, 02:51 AM
steven79's Avatar
steven79 steven79 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jul 25, 2001
Location: Drumright OK.
Posts: 2,257
Post

i don't think there is a fuse for them just a fuseible link somewere.
__________________
Thor - 79 wag ltd <br />366,th400,Q trac d44 f/r 3.54<br />31x10.50x15 Good year at's
I am not a dad,I am a domestic dictator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:44 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

Thanks for your quick reply steven ,

But according to the haynes manual there should be one (a fuse), but I there is not a clear picture, or diagram of the fusebox in the haynes manual.

Does anyone have a picture, or diagram of the fusebox ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2005, 03:59 AM
talntar's Avatar
talntar talntar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 12, 2002
Location: ansonia ct. 06401
Posts: 5,530
Post

iirc it is a circut breaker in the fuse panel
__________________
85 gw 215k and still going
castrated(de-wooded)360 2" espo springs 31x10.5
89 gw,free,almost legal

She can dance a Cajun rhythm,Jump like a Willys in four wheel drive,

the world is full of kings and queens who blind your eyes and steal your dreams

"Our militarized "law enforcement" has become the standing army our founders feared"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:14 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

I am afright there is not one in my '79 cherokee.

But it could be that parts of the wiring have been changed for the eurpean market, but then again, i assume that there should be a fuse in the circut.

Does anyone have a picture, or diagram or can give me a direction in what part of the fusebox the fuse should be ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-2005, 05:35 AM
LouM LouM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 06, 2005
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 189
Post

The circuit breaker is built into the headlight switch.

Lou
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-2005, 06:00 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

I will go over to the garage right now and check this Lou.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-27-2005, 06:17 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

I don't think so , I can't find anything on the switch that looks like a circuit breaker .

there is a small button on it that could be something like a reset button , but I have never seen reset buttons on cars (in houses OK), and I can test this button with a short circuit but I am afright that I need a new headlight switch after this
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-27-2005, 06:41 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

Does anyone have experience with headlamps fuses ?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:32 AM
89grand's Avatar
89grand 89grand is offline
Resident ***hole
 
Join Date: Feb 23, 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,667
Post

I'm pretty sure there isn't a fuse. The headlights are extremely important so I doubt Jeep or any other auto maker wants someone driving on a dark road in the rain the suddenly the headlight fuse blows. My 89 doesn't have a fuse for the head lights.
__________________
Steve

1989 Black Grand Wagoneer, BJ's 4" lift, ProComp ES3000's
31x10.5x15 BFG AT KO's,MSD 6A,TFI upgrade,360,727,229,2.72 gears.
2006 Dodge Magnum R/T
2000 Jeep Wrangler
1988 Cadillac Brougham
1966 Dodge Monaco 500 383
1965 Pontiac Tempest 326
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:50 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

Well it makes sence in the way you put it there Steve , it also makes sence in the way that I find melted wires (probebly due to a short circut).
The reason I put the question on this forum is that I am prety sure that "other cars" do have got a fuse for the headlights.

So I just want to be realy sure before I put in a fuse in the suply wire and find an other (original)fuse in a place that I havn't found yet.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-27-2005, 09:30 AM
89grand's Avatar
89grand 89grand is offline
Resident ***hole
 
Join Date: Feb 23, 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 5,667
Post

Well, I just looked at the wiring diagram in my Haynes manual and the headlights are not powered through the fuse block. It goes straight from hot to the headlight switch and shows a circuit breaker in the switch then to the dimmer switch and then the headlights. A fused source does go to the headlight switch too but that's for the parking lights and tail lights only.

I'm not trying to be condasending, but most if not all cars DO NOT have the headlights fused through the fuse block and for good reason.

You have a problem with your headlight switch or some wiring, it's not a fuse problem.
__________________
Steve

1989 Black Grand Wagoneer, BJ's 4" lift, ProComp ES3000's
31x10.5x15 BFG AT KO's,MSD 6A,TFI upgrade,360,727,229,2.72 gears.
2006 Dodge Magnum R/T
2000 Jeep Wrangler
1988 Cadillac Brougham
1966 Dodge Monaco 500 383
1965 Pontiac Tempest 326
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:31 AM
andy d andy d is offline
Shade Tree Shaman
 
Join Date: May 06, 2000
Location: Marshfield,MA
Posts: 7,205
Post

uhhmn, every bug I ever owned and my BMWs headlights are fused in the fusebox. But maybe that's a German thing. Or maybe not having one is a Jeep thing
__________________
\'88 gwag,pure stock
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-28-2005, 06:08 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

Lou,

I think you are right afterall ,there is another post on this forum " Headlight Circuit breaker " that is about the same problem .

their solution is that there is a Circuit breaker in the headlight switch (like you said) that resets itselve when it cools down again.

This is new to me , and would realy like to try this ,just to be sure, but I will not, because I am chicken , or should I just do it, or not , well...... let me sleep on this
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-28-2005, 06:16 AM
rusty eagle's Avatar
rusty eagle rusty eagle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 29, 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 123
Post

By the way , you were also right steve
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-28-2005, 09:59 AM
LouM LouM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 06, 2005
Location: Sugar Hill, GA
Posts: 189
Post

Sorry, I should have been a little more explicit. The circuit breaker is built into the headlight switch. It's not serviceable except by replacing the switch. Most American cars used to be wired this way. You'll note there are no headlight relays like in European cars either.

Lou
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-28-2005, 12:33 PM
William William is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 02, 2005
Location: Oregon
Posts: 57
Post

Rusty, Here's how it works, or at least this is what the guys shared with me on my thread and it worked like a charm. All the hots for you running lights and tail lights, dash lights and headlights run to your headlight switch. There is a 25A circuit breaker that is inside the headlight switch that will reset itself once it cools down. From the headlight switch there is one hot that goes down to the floor board dimmer switch that gives you high and low beams. The floor board dimmer switch seperates the one hot that comes in from the headlight switch into two hots that go to the high and low beams. Thats why if that floorboard dimmer switch goes out you loose all your headlights like I did. Took me a week to sort this out. Special thanks to Crazy Jeepman for clearing the fog for me. Basically, the only cb in that circuit is the headlight switch itself. Hope this helps.
__________________
76 Wag 401 V8 bored .30 with RV cam. Edelbrock intake (2131) and Carb(1405)with electric choke add on. Quadratrac with lo range converted to part time with warn lockers on the front and a B&M Shift kit on the floor. Custom lift with 35x12.50s sitting on 15x10s. Custom steering. Custom front driveshaft. Dual exhaust with dual 40 series flowmasters and no cats! Dana 44 front and rear geared 3:73.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner