• Show
Clear All
  • Joe4310
    230 Tornado
    • Jan 23, 2016

Cross reference 258

Want to pull top half of 258 and have it worked over. It's bored.. HEi
    Doing a tub off of CJ 5. Motor rolls nice but slight tick and
    No adjustment. While it's out what can I do to get all I can get out of this motor. Cherokee is under cover
    Wisdom is money....
  • joe
    • Apr 28, 2000

I like the 258's for what they are. Reliable low end grunt motors but not long legged high RPM zoom zoom motors. Perfect for CJ's and adequate for FSJ normal use. Don't know what mods or money it'd take to turn a tractor motor into a fast motor? Some folks swear by swapping a 4.0 head onto a 258, but I have no experience there. The few 258's I've had all liked better breathing. My favorite mods are: A/ Send the Carter BBD carb to the trash bin. I prefer the Weber 32/36 but an MC2100 works well also. Along with that a better exhaust is a great help. I've ran the $$$ Clifford headers cause at the time that was all that was avail but likely there are others now. Mine were single output headers feeding a single exh pipe. Never felt the need to run duals on a 258. Since you already have swapped in an HEI ignition. That's a good mod and I'd keep it. The above won't make the 258 fast but IMHO more "responsive". Last one I did was in a CJ8 w/4.10 gears and it worked great on/off pavement. If ya just gotta have "faster" I would swap in a complete 4.0 Just one man's opinions. Ya might check on some CJ specific forums and see what those guys are doing with their 258's. Wonderful motors for their intended use.
    joe
    "Don't mind me. I'm just here for the alibi"

Comment

• itselliot
      350 Buick
      • Aug 28, 2010

I did the 4.0 head on a 258...
      really have to watch out for the water ports in the rear of the block they are mismatched and need plugging in the head.