• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • wjamesbass
    232 I6
    • Mar 21, 2013

Rerouting the 2150 Carb Bowl Line?

The power valve on my 2150 is most definitely trashed so I will be following (Mr.) Ristow's rebuild sticky very closely when the the parts arrive, but for now I am studying the vacuum layout for my '88 and trying to work around an equally trashed vapor canister. However, for all the things I don't know about the emissions circuit I thought I would ask around about venting options. Specifically, I'm looking for ways to keep the bowl vent line active without using the canister.

Would I be able to reroute the bowl vent line to the PCV outlet tee behind the carb...

...or, could I run the carb bowl vent line directly from the carb to the fuel tank?

For what it's worth I have a vented fuel cap and the original air cleaner, which appears to be hooked up to the EGR and Dual CTO as described in the emissions diagram. Neither of the front CTOs (nor the NLV) are installed on this engine.

Finally, this vehicle does not figure into passing emissions anytime soon, so I got that going for me...

I will research this site and review the TSM before I attempt anything that I don't understand, but at this point I'm just as leery about plugging ports as I am in trying to reroute them.

Most appreciated!

89 Emissions Diagram:

1988 Grand Wagoneer:

TFI Ignition
    Ford Contour E-Fan
    CS-144...in progress

All windows operational
    Working tailgate glass
    Waterproof Roof (Rack Delete)

• Ristow
    • Jan 20, 2006

there is no reason to keep the bowl vent without the canister. that vent is only open (venting) when the ignition is off. the solenoid closes,shutting the vent off when the ignition is on. that vent must be closed when the engine is running. cap it off.
    Originally posted by Hankrod
    Ristows right.................again,

Originally posted by Fasts79Chief
    ... like the little 'you know what's' that you are.