• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Latta brook
    230 Tornado
    • Jan 20, 2017

J4000 front wheel bearings

I am new to the world of FSJ. I aquired a 71 J4000 last year. It is due for the NY safety inspection. I don?t want any surprises so I am going through the brakes. It has a strong peddle but I thought I would check them just the same. Plus one of the warn manual hubs needs to be serviced because last winter I had to use a wrench to engage it. Anyway, I pulled the front drums; the front bearings fell right out but the rear ones and oil seal didn?t. They look like they should press out but I never force anything unless I am sure. Are they a press fit and any tips on getting out.

I have been following the tech forum for some time now. It has been very helpful. My wrenching experience has been a 68 GTO and a 67 Alischalmers tractor not FAJs.
  • 440sixpack
    327 Rambler
    • Jul 21, 2016

The outer bearing cone should fall out. the rear one will come out when you pull the inner seal. I just use a piece of wood and drive the inner cone out with the seal. you could pull the seal and the bearing will fall out if you want to take the time.

Be sure to check the cones and the races good before you repack them. always replace the inner seal.

Comment

• Latta brook
      230 Tornado
      • Jan 20, 2017

Thanks much

Comment

• bufurd
        327 Rambler
        • Apr 13, 2008