• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Comancheap
    232 I6
    • Jan 27, 2010

Junk is sagging

Okay, I am still a newbie so although I bounced all corners on my 81 Waggy and it seemed like the shocks were in very good shape I can see the back end hanging low over the tires but fine up on front tires. Can "see air over fronts but not rears" squatted bad

Even unloaded if hangs down. Other day on a bump the quarter panel even scrubbed my new 31" tire.

I picked up a low mile 1972 Buick 350-4bbl engine complete with acessories today and that same drivers side quarter panel didn't even have finger room over it (passenger 1/4 was better but not by much).

This was with the 350 mounted evenly in the back middle of cargo area.

Anyhow how to I get the ride hieght back up?

Don't off road much (daily driver) so wouldn't mind a smoothier ride too

Thanks,
    John
    John

1977 FSJ, Autumn Red 360 roached gas tank to match exterior!

1972 Buick GS 455 Stage 1.Total basket

1960 Electra 225 convertible 401 Nailhead 445 ft lbs of torque.

1970 455 MF'in Muncie 4 speed Buick GSX rusty yet satisfying! Drive it sideways!

1986 Chevy Silverado Dads first nice truck, claimed by the woods : (
  • Heavy_Metal_Thunder_81
    Cherokee Outlaw
    • Jan 10, 2006

Common "Wag Sag"

There's a number of ways to correct it...but the correct way would be replace the springs with new units. Now, a lot of people don't want to cough up that kind of money for new springs so there are other less desirable options like "add-a-leaf"s, helper springs, air shocks, helper air bags, or a small block.
    -Jonny B.
    1979 Cherokee Golden Eagle - UNDER CONSTRUCTION
    7" Alcan springs, BJ's HD shackles - 35x12.5x15 BFG Mud Terrains
    AMC 401 - Pro-Flo 4 EFI
    NV4500/NWF BB/NP205 - Triple Stick'd
    F D44 - 4.10, Eaton E-Locker
    R M23 - 4.10, Detroit Locker

1979 Cherokee Chief - Parts
    1979 Cherokee Chief - Parts
    1979 Wagoneer - Sold
    1981 Cherokee Chief - Cubed

Comment