International Full Size Jeep Association
Home Forums Reader's Rigs Tech Library Trail Stories FSJ-List
International Full Size Jeep Association  

Go Back   International Full Size Jeep Association > Tire Kickin' > General FSJ Tech

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:09 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
HEI distributor upgrade on my '90

I tried searching the Archives and came up short...maybe it's just me. When I upgrade to the HEI distributor, do I do away with all the factory stuff, INCLUDING the driver's fender mounted ignition box/module? And could someone recommend a particular wire for tapping into as a "keyed hot"?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:13 PM
Ristow Ristow is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 20, 2006
Location: The Great Googley Moogley Midwest.
Posts: 17,251
yes,you dump all the stock stuff. you can use the big red wire going to the stock ignition box,or just use the coil wire,your '90 should have 12 volt power to the coil,but do verify that.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hankrod
Ristows right.................again,




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
... like the little 'you know what's' that you are.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
I LOVE how Ristow has stolen my comment about him ... "Quoted" it ... and made himself famous for being an ***hole to people. Hahahahahahahahahha!


→ Where the kids hang out...

fsjbuilder.org come for the mindless chat,stay for the hand drawn emoticons.

It's like you're unraveling a big cable-knit sweater that someone keeps knitting...and knitting...and knitting...and knitting...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:17 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
Thanks Mike!
Sooo...I just cut the red wire (going to the stock box) and run extra red wire to the new distributor and that is all there is to it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:21 PM
Ristow Ristow is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 20, 2006
Location: The Great Googley Moogley Midwest.
Posts: 17,251
yep,i'd use the coil + if it's a full power line,closer to the distributor. also,i would leave all the stock wiring for the stock ignition in place,in case you needed to throw it all back in due to a ignition failure.pack some grease into the plugs and zip-tie them out of the way.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hankrod
Ristows right.................again,




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
... like the little 'you know what's' that you are.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
I LOVE how Ristow has stolen my comment about him ... "Quoted" it ... and made himself famous for being an ***hole to people. Hahahahahahahahahha!


→ Where the kids hang out...

fsjbuilder.org come for the mindless chat,stay for the hand drawn emoticons.

It's like you're unraveling a big cable-knit sweater that someone keeps knitting...and knitting...and knitting...and knitting...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2006, 08:54 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
10-4 on the + coil wire...I had already thought about leaving all of the factory stuff in place, and unmolested IN CASE OF EMERGENCY

Thanks again Mike!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2006, 09:27 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
it totally slipped my mind

I will need to pull the distributor gear off of my stock distributor and install it on the new HEI distributor, correct? I suppose the dist./cam gears will mesh together again/ok afterwards

*that plug wire looks MIGHTY close to that P/S pump...

Last edited by bowtieman55 : 12-02-2006 at 09:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:27 PM
Elliott's Avatar
Elliott Elliott is offline
Cowboy Up
 
Join Date: Jun 22, 2002
Location: Pilot Point, TX
Posts: 12,704
It's possible to put the distributor gear on 180* off on an AMC because of the way it's drilled. JunkYardGenius posted a bunch of info here on the HEI swap...
__________________
*** I am collecting pics and info on any factory Jeep Dually trucks from the J-Series at the new Jeep Dually Registry.
***I can set you up with hydroboost for your brakes: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=106056
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:31 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
now I'm confused...

maybe I should just go with the TFI upgrade
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:36 PM
Elliott's Avatar
Elliott Elliott is offline
Cowboy Up
 
Join Date: Jun 22, 2002
Location: Pilot Point, TX
Posts: 12,704
Here's the wiring: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showt...ht=distributor
__________________
*** I am collecting pics and info on any factory Jeep Dually trucks from the J-Series at the new Jeep Dually Registry.
***I can set you up with hydroboost for your brakes: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=106056
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:36 PM
Ristow Ristow is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 20, 2006
Location: The Great Googley Moogley Midwest.
Posts: 17,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by bowtieman55
now I'm confused...

maybe I should just go with the TFI upgrade

just put your old gear on,and don't force the roll pin through,if it bind,pull it out and turn the gear a half turn and re-install it.

you may need a longer power steering belt,to swing the pump out a little more for wire clearance.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hankrod
Ristows right.................again,




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
... like the little 'you know what's' that you are.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
I LOVE how Ristow has stolen my comment about him ... "Quoted" it ... and made himself famous for being an ***hole to people. Hahahahahahahahahha!


→ Where the kids hang out...

fsjbuilder.org come for the mindless chat,stay for the hand drawn emoticons.

It's like you're unraveling a big cable-knit sweater that someone keeps knitting...and knitting...and knitting...and knitting...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:39 PM
Elliott's Avatar
Elliott Elliott is offline
Cowboy Up
 
Join Date: Jun 22, 2002
Location: Pilot Point, TX
Posts: 12,704
Check post 20 here for a pic/info of the gear set up: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showt...stributor+gear
__________________
*** I am collecting pics and info on any factory Jeep Dually trucks from the J-Series at the new Jeep Dually Registry.
***I can set you up with hydroboost for your brakes: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=106056
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:40 PM
JeremySmith's Avatar
JeremySmith JeremySmith is offline
Master Mechanic
 
Join Date: Sep 03, 2004
Location: Michigan City, Indiana
Posts: 1,336
Of course, if your 180 off, all you have to do is pop it out and spin it 180, and set it back in. Getting the slot in the oil pump to line up right was more of a hassle for me.
__________________
1978 Cherokee Chief 360/T-18/D20
Midwest FSJ Gathering Website
Three out of four voices in my head thought it was a good idea.......
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-02-2006, 10:43 PM
Elliott's Avatar
Elliott Elliott is offline
Cowboy Up
 
Join Date: Jun 22, 2002
Location: Pilot Point, TX
Posts: 12,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeremySmith
Of course, if your 180 off, all you have to do is pop it out and spin it 180, and set it back in. Getting the slot in the oil pump to line up right was more of a hassle for me.
Yeah, on that... figure that the gear starts to mesh before the slot on the distributor drops into the notch on the pump shaft. Turn the pump shaft notch a lil clockwise from where your gears start to mesh and it'll go (within a couple tries).
__________________
*** I am collecting pics and info on any factory Jeep Dually trucks from the J-Series at the new Jeep Dually Registry.
***I can set you up with hydroboost for your brakes: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=106056
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:10 PM
Ristow Ristow is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 20, 2006
Location: The Great Googley Moogley Midwest.
Posts: 17,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Junk Yard Genius
To really make an HEI sing, you will have to put in a large feed wire, and that will require a relay.
The relay just has 4 connections, two for the heavy feed wire, one connects to the yellow harness wire, and the last to a ground.
Easy to do and will supply the HEI with the current it needs to put out at maxium levels.



i need to do this,that is a wimpy feed line i'm using.

but i'm never going back to ported vacuum on the advance unit!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hankrod
Ristows right.................again,




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
... like the little 'you know what's' that you are.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
I LOVE how Ristow has stolen my comment about him ... "Quoted" it ... and made himself famous for being an ***hole to people. Hahahahahahahahahha!


→ Where the kids hang out...

fsjbuilder.org come for the mindless chat,stay for the hand drawn emoticons.

It's like you're unraveling a big cable-knit sweater that someone keeps knitting...and knitting...and knitting...and knitting...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:14 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elliott
Check post 20 here for a pic/info of the gear set up: http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showt...stributor+gear

OMG...that is simply amazing!!!

I really want to thank all of yall for helping me through this! Luckily, going with the HEI Distributor isn't going to be a wiring mess/problem, and now I've got solutions to possible issues when installing the new distributor.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:19 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
ugg...after JYG's post, I'm again caught between a rock and a hard place...

where's the "smilie" for pulling the rest of my hair out???
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-02-2006, 11:55 PM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
ok, so
1) I would need to use the YELLOW wire in the harness going to the stock ignition box on the fender?

2) That ADAPTER; it sits on top of the HEI cap in place of the factory HEI coil?

3) Use a Ford style E-Core coil (remotely mounted) with a "spark plug" wire running from it over to that ADAPTER?

and that pretty much sums up "hopping up" the HEI distributor upgrade?

*just for reference; if I were to do the "remote coil" upgrade, I would use MSD part #8227...now, that particular coil is shown to provide 48,000 volts compared to the HEI "in cap" coil that provides 52,000 volts. What gives?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/JEEP-AMC-CJ5-CJ7-GM-HEI-Distributor-V8-290-TO-401_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ33690QQihZ016QQitem Z260060179101QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

Last edited by bowtieman55 : 12-03-2006 at 12:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-03-2006, 12:13 AM
bowtieman55 bowtieman55 is offline
Bleedin' Gasoline
 
Join Date: Jan 09, 2006
Location: Elizabeth City, NC
Posts: 2,039
wow...this thread is VERY INFORMATIVE!

I appreciate EVERYONES input, and I hope that I don't seem like an ***, but maybe it's just best if I do the E-Core (TFI ) upgrade and be done with it...

I am definitely keeping this thread page in my favorites for quick reference
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 12-03-2006, 08:20 AM
Ristow Ristow is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 20, 2006
Location: The Great Googley Moogley Midwest.
Posts: 17,251
same cap and rotor in '90 and '91.

put the HEI in,as is for now,it'll run fine,and then do the added stuff JYG mentions little by little,i know i need to get some better supply power to mine,and a separate ground like he mentions.

do use the yellow power wire,instead of the coil wire like i said,even if the coil wire is 12 volt,it's too small.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hankrod
Ristows right.................again,




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
... like the little 'you know what's' that you are.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Fasts79Chief
I LOVE how Ristow has stolen my comment about him ... "Quoted" it ... and made himself famous for being an ***hole to people. Hahahahahahahahahha!


→ Where the kids hang out...

fsjbuilder.org come for the mindless chat,stay for the hand drawn emoticons.

It's like you're unraveling a big cable-knit sweater that someone keeps knitting...and knitting...and knitting...and knitting...
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-03-2006, 01:15 PM
Heep80's Avatar
Heep80 Heep80 is offline
Grease Monkey
 
Join Date: Apr 27, 2006
Location: evanston, wy
Posts: 260
Talking

yes, I agree this tread is sacked full of invaluable knowledge. maybe i just seem as lost as the next guy. I would like to know if this HEI upgrade would be worth it to a guy in my needs. 360/727/219. but the catch is that I live up 7,000ft elevation and like to go to the mountains. I would like to go EFI in the future(maybe) just want it to run good and be able to take me up a few hills with out getting flooded out. I am running the smallest jets possible. Would TFI be better than HEI? Will be adding a cam and headers soon.
__________________
80 J-10 with 3in RC lift,1 in. shackles, buckshot M/T 33's. dual glasspack exhaust,eldobrock intake/carb/valve covers/aircleaner k&n, autometer tach, spare tire mount w/ fullsize spare,tool box, 40gal spare tank, grant steering wheel, rhino grill,DPA (Not installed Doug T's Headers, Hi lift jack, cobra cb,tie rods, & dual timing chain

Last edited by Heep80 : 12-03-2006 at 01:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
corner corner