International Full Size Jeep Association

International Full Size Jeep Association (http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/index.php)
-   Electrical (http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   GM standalone cruise control swap (http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=187819)

babywag 10-27-2017 07:04 PM

GM standalone cruise control swap
 
Anybody done it yet?
I have a unit from the wreckmaster I bought for punishment, er I mean parts.

You know the one, used on GM cars/trucks 80s & 90s.
I am guessing it will be an easy swap.
Especially since I have TBI already, the column stalk is GM, etc.

Be nice to lose the stupid vacuum crap archaic setup!

SJTD 10-27-2017 10:04 PM

No vacuum??? Maybe work on a Diesel?

Got pics?

kansasboy001 10-28-2017 11:41 AM

I'd be interested as well if the column switch was cruise only. Would be perfect for pre 1986 jeeps

babywag 10-28-2017 12:33 PM

column switch on 86-91 is turn, headlights(hi/low), wipers, and cruise.
earlier just cruise stalks could work? I'd have to see one...

bufurd 10-29-2017 06:12 AM

The Dakota Digital unit is so easy, clean and works so well, I'll never have a vehicle without cruise control again. :drivin:

babywag 04-20-2019 03:40 PM

Made some progress on this recently.

Got a VSS buffer from boneyard and wired it up.



Rounded up donor stuff from my stash of junk.



Here is where it will live.



Still need to go grab female pigtail from junkyard for column cruise switch.
Stay tuned for more.

67GMC 04-20-2019 06:22 PM

You'll also may need a brake switch to cancel the cruise if you don't have one. I think it has to be a separate switch from the brake lights. I can't recall if my '84 has one but I'm pretty sure my '87XJ had two brake switches.

Good luck. I have three vehicles with non-working cruise. All my GM stuff worked forever but for some reason, Jeep and VW can't seem to keep their cruise control working.

Cruise is a must for me too. My Toyota has Radar Cruise control and it's really slick. Slows down automatically if you come up behind someone going slower than you.

babywag 04-20-2019 07:21 PM

Brake switch is in the pic. White dude w/ 2 wires.

rang-a-stang 04-22-2019 12:32 PM

Watching.

I bought an early GM cruise stalk for my 79 and it was exactly the same as the stock "Jeep" one I removed. Since we have GM columns, I bet the wiring colors and connectors will be the same between that module and the AMC one.
https://www.thecruisecontrolstore.co...ontrol-switch/

The wiring for the switch is also the same as the Dakota Digital CC module. I am hoping all that means the GM will bolt in with minimal wiring changes.

Did that module mount up use existing holes in the fender well or did you drill new ones?

babywag 04-22-2019 08:36 PM

Even if wiring is different on switch easily figured out.
It's just 4 wires for column switch.
I had to order a new column dealio too...mine tested bad.
Figures...but only $13 shipped for brand new one.

I drilled 3 small new holes to mount the module.
Got extra brake switch installed and stopped there.

Still need go boneyard for that cruise switch wiring connector & donor for a cable bracket.

babywag 04-23-2019 11:40 PM

So wasted 2hrs @ local yard today.
Not a single donor for stupid connector I wanted/needed.
Going to just cut off the goofy flat connector and use something else.

67GMC 04-24-2019 06:29 PM

Come on. It just seems like 2 wasted years LOL!

babywag 04-24-2019 10:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 67GMC
Come on. It just seems like 2 wasted years LOL!

HA! no doubt...guess my phone sub-ed yrs for hrs?

Anywho wired it up, all electrical tested out as it should.

Then as usual an unexpected complication, the throttle connector for the cable is different.
Unit came from a roadmaster guess TBI is different. So I'll have to redneck engineer something to connect the cable.
Was hoping to road test it tonight :banghead:

johnsonic 04-24-2019 10:45 PM

For something like this, would you need TBI? Or does it just need the right pulse generator? My CC worked for about 7 minutes and might want to get something with more available parts and not running on vacuum.

babywag 04-25-2019 07:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnsonic
For something like this, would you need TBI?



Absolutely not, you would need a gm vss 4 out buffer like pictured.
TBI cars used them.
It takes the Jeep 8k vss signal and divides it to a 4k signal that the cruise module uses. It's a stand-alone system.

Need from donor...
Cruise module, wiring, brake pedal(lower) switch, vss buffer.
Brake switch is important it is hot until press pedal then open. Reverse of brake light switch.
All pictured above.

babywag 04-25-2019 07:53 AM

Wiring diagram cruise module
 
Here is a 96 wiring diagram, pretty basic install.


8man 04-25-2019 08:35 AM

Nice post Tony. Very helpful.

babywag 05-05-2019 06:56 PM

Messed around with cable/throttle hookup.
Used a little arm(modified) from LT1 roadmaster TB.
Seems since this is TBI a TBI donor would have been a better choice.
But using what I already had...

Anyway here is my solution for connection on TB.



Now I just need to fab up a bracket for cable.
Unfortunately I also need to redo my fuel lines. The cruise cable needed to be in same space as fuel supply line.
Kinda annoyed but oh well.

babywag 05-07-2019 01:33 PM

Got the bracket figured out. Just need to redo fuel lines and should be good?


babywag 05-10-2019 03:04 PM

Success!
 
Got my new fuel lines bent up & installed = road test.
100% functional just like a factory install.

So for anyone interested in losing the crap vacuum setup or do not have cruise this is a decent cheap option.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.