International Full Size Jeep Association

International Full Size Jeep Association (http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/index.php)
-   Fuel Injection (http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   16197427 PCM swap (http://www.ifsja.org/forums/vb/showthread.php?t=147171)

JeepsAndGuns 10-12-2011 06:02 PM

16197427 PCM swap
 
I just swapped my old 1227747 ecm for a newer 16197427 pcm after reading about it on binderplanet. I must say, wow, there is quite a diffrence!
My idle is smoother and better. The engine sounds smoother and better, accel is better and smoother, steady cruise is smoother and better, heavy and wot accel is better and stronger, even decel is better and stronger.
Pretty much under all conditions my engine runs better, smoother, and the "butt" dyno even feels like I picked up a couple more ponies. All I did was input my timing table from my old 7747 tune into the new bin file and did a little smoothing of the fuel maps and went for a spin. I am on my 5th data log and have almost got my fuel maps where they need to be.
The pcm splits up the fuel into two diffrent maps, one for near ilde, one for off idle, same thing with spark tables. There is a idle and off idle table. Also if using with a manual trans or non computer controlled auto, there are also a few changes you need to make to turn off the auto trans controlls. I also turned off all the trans error codes and turned off the egr.

The 7427 pcm is found in most 94-95 trucks and vans with the automatics. They were used with the 4L60E, and 4L80E electronicly shifted transmissions. There is also about 4 times as much code in the computer as the old 7747, so theres a little more to learn. But I would reccomend anyone with a 7747 system looking for the next step, to look at swapping in this one. You can re use your current harness, just remove the pins from the old 7747 connectors, and put them in the 7427 connectors.

Another nice thing about this computer, is it can run multi port (batch fire) with just a small mod to the ecm and a little tweaking to the programming. :D

FSJ Guy 10-12-2011 06:48 PM

What's that? Oh, did I hear you say you were going to do a writeup for us?! :D

FSJ Guy 10-12-2011 06:48 PM

Does it give a better (faster) datastream than the '7747 ECM?

Revhendo 10-12-2011 10:22 PM

Crap, what? I don't even have my 7747 system up and running yet and there's something better? Of course there is. Does this use the same chip burner and whatnot?

PlasticBoob 10-12-2011 10:46 PM

[content deleted - I no longer support MS]

JeepsAndGuns 10-13-2011 05:54 PM

No need to do a writeup, theres plenty of info out there already. I am just posting up about it so those who dont go to other sires will know about this swap.
Heres some good info:

http://www.binderplanet.com/forums/s...d.php?t=103053

Heres a good wiring diagram showing what pin to hook where, when you remove the old 7747 plugs and put the pins in the 7427 plugs. I just printed out that first picture

http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...light=16197427

Here is another good thread with some more info about the 16197427 pcm, along with wiring diagrams, tunerpro defination files, and bin files.

http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...Information-OD

As for the chips. Yes, you can use the same 27SF512 EEPROM chips that you would use with the 7747. No need to soder in jumper wires to make the chip work like you do with the 7747. The 7427 is already a 28 pin chip.
The 16197427 uses what they call a "memcal" unit. You have a few options. You can do like I did and buy the moates G1 adapter (easyest way to do it, no sodering required) I bought this package with the zif and chips.
http://www.moates.net/gp1-package-gm....html?cPath=64

Or if you already have chips and a zif socket, you can get it by itself.
http://www.moates.net/g1-memory-adap....html?cPath=64

Another option would be to cut off the old chip from the memcal unit and soder in place either a 27sf512 eeprom, or a dip socket, as outlined here:

http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Inj...r-27SF512-Chip

If you simply soder in a eeprom into the memcal, then you will need this little jewl to program it:
http://www.moates.net/hdr1-memcal-he....html?cPath=64

I have one and find it rather handy, as it allows you to read the bins from the stock chip in the memcals.

And, the whole site put up by eagle mark is a great forum for fuel injection addicts such as myself. Lots of good info, you can spend lots of time looking, searching and reading.

http://www.gearhead-efi.com/Fuel-Injection/forum.php

FSJ Guy 10-13-2011 10:39 PM

Interesting. Did you stay with the 7747's speed density or did you add a MAF and/or IAT sensor?

JeepsAndGuns 10-14-2011 06:34 PM

I added no extra sensors and still use the original map sensor. This pcm was run on a tbi truck, and all the tbi trucks (I have seen) were speed density.
I did have to change the knock sensor, as they changed them.
You also have to remove the esc module also, as its built in to the memcal on these pcm's. You simply remove the esc and connect the knock sensor directly to the pcm.

FSJ Guy 10-14-2011 07:41 PM

And I just recently got a tune that gives me good power AND fuel economy.

Well, sort of, on the fuel economy. It's double digits at least! LOL!

And now you're telling me that there's something even BETTER! :-/

JeepsAndGuns 10-15-2011 04:59 PM

Yep. You should definately give it a try. I highly reccomend it!
With a few mods to the code, this pcm can controll electric cooling fans, and datalog a wideband 02. The wideband cant be used to controll the fuel, but it can be displayed in the datastream right along with all the other data. I plan on added one for just cause sake..lol.
And to answer your question, I forgot. Yes, it datalogs at a much faster rate. Its pretty mutch instantly. I can turn the key on, and move the throttle and watch the needle on the tps guage move with my foot.

If your using tunerpro rt, just go over there and download the defination and datastream files and check them out. Make sure you get the tunerpro 5 versions. The two most common ones are 0E and 0D.
0D is for light duty vans and trucks with the 4L60E trans, and 0E is for heavyer duty trucks and vans with the 4L80E trans.
I am using a 454 bin, so mine is 0E, but they are both pretty much identical when displayed on tunerpro.

FSJ Guy 10-15-2011 05:55 PM

Looks like a project for next year for me. Keep us updated!

JeepsAndGuns 10-16-2011 05:46 PM

Next year? Pfft...
I just picked up two of these at the local pull a part for cheap. If ya want one let me know, I will cut ya a deal. :D
Wont take but mabey 30-40 min to swap all the pins from your old connectors to the new ones.

Revhendo 10-16-2011 08:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JeepsAndGuns
Next year? Pfft...
I just picked up two of these at the local pull a part for cheap. If ya want one let me know, I will cut ya a deal. :D
Wont take but mabey 30-40 min to swap all the pins from your old connectors to the new ones.


Man I hate you. Now I gotta go back to the junkyard.......:thumbsup:

FSJ Guy 10-16-2011 10:53 PM

Remember, it's already October!

I need to keep the truck fully operational during the winter. That's my excuse as to why I still have the dumb thing and why I bought brand new tires for it a few years ago! :D

babywag 10-30-2011 07:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FSJ Guy
Does it give a better (faster) datastream than the '7747 ECM?


A quick check online returned 8192 baud vs. 160 is this true?

I just picked one up @ the yard today, was the only one left in the truck.
Luckily the chip was laying on the floor.
For whatever reason the only pull it yourself yard around me you rarely find a computer, and 99% time if you do someone has robbed the chip from it.

JeepsAndGuns, are you using this on a 360 or a 401?

The one I found was a 16197427 BJYL pretty sure the truck was a v8?

JeepsAndGuns 10-30-2011 08:36 PM

Using it on the 401 in my signature.
The datastream rate (as far as I can remember) is correct. I dont know the exact number, but its instant, no lag that I can see at all when datalogging.
The BCC on that chip is a V8 one, so you done good.
But why would someone go through the trouble of removing the pcm, then the memcal, only to leave the pcm in there, and the memcal on the floor?
Makes me wonder if they might not have had a bad memcal in their pocket, then swapped them out in the truck. Hopefully this is not the case.

I am still loving this pcm and am just starting to scratch the surface of what it can do. I like having two timing tables, and am starting to play with the idle one. (to start with, you just make them both the same)

babywag 10-31-2011 01:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JeepsAndGuns

But why would someone go through the trouble of removing the pcm, then the memcal, only to leave the pcm in there, and the memcal on the floor?
Makes me wonder if they might not have had a bad memcal in their pocket, then swapped them out in the truck. Hopefully this is not the case.


Now you've got me wondering...
memcal cover says BJYL 16200098
Sticker on pcm says 16200345 BJYL
Should the 16200xxx numbers match?

JeepsAndGuns 10-31-2011 06:30 PM

BJYL is a 16197427 bin file, so the numbers on it shouldnt matter. All I wonder/worry about, is the possability of someone swapping their non working part with a working one.

Only way to find out is to swap it in and find out.

babywag 11-01-2011 09:46 PM

Wiring questions.

Online writeup info conflicts with GM info/wiring diagram.

E5 - says P/N switch swap B10, GM says it's for the transmission range signal "c"
E13 - says battery swap C16, GM says it's for the brake signal TCC function.
Note 2 = B+ BRAKE NOT APPLIED 0 VOLTS BRAKE APPLIED

F14 - not listed online, GM says TP reference
F15 - not listed online, GM says ignition feed splice

So me thinking (dangerous I know)
E5, and E13 should not be used/swapped.
F14, and F15 should be used.

Hoping tomorrow to mod my old harness and cross my fingers the pcm I picked up works?

JeepsAndGuns 11-02-2011 06:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by babywag
Wiring questions.

Online writeup info conflicts with GM info/wiring diagram.

E5 - says P/N switch swap B10, GM says it's for the transmission range signal "c"
E13 - says battery swap C16, GM says it's for the brake signal TCC function.
Note 2 = B+ BRAKE NOT APPLIED 0 VOLTS BRAKE APPLIED

F14 - not listed online, GM says TP reference
F15 - not listed online, GM says ignition feed splice

So me thinking (dangerous I know)
E5, and E13 should not be used/swapped.
F14, and F15 should be used.

Hoping tomorrow to mod my old harness and cross my fingers the pcm I picked up works?



Not sure about the p/n switch. I am running a manual trans, so I dont use one. Its my understanding that there is not one on the trucks these PCM's were used it. From what I read, the pcm uses data it gets from the transmission to know what gear its in. So unless you have a 4L60E or 4L80E, I would just leave that wire un hooked.
The brake signal was used for the TCC, from what I read it served no other purpose. The 7747 used two battery feed wires. 1 goes to E16, the other to E13. It works where when that pin has 12v, it means the brakes are off. When it gets no power on that pin, it means your on the brakes. So unless you have a trans with a electric TCC, just apply 12 volts to that pin.
F14. On the 7747, the 5 volt refrence for the TPS and MAP sensors are both fed off of pin C14. On the 7427, it has a seperate pin and wire for map and tps. I just hooked old pin C14 to pin E14, and left F14 with nothing on it. Works just fine.
F15, not sure. I dont have anything hooked there.

Also make sure you un hook and remove the knock sensor ESC module!! This is built into the memcal in the 7427. The knock sensor hooks directly to the pcm on pin B15. Attach your old wire B7 to that pin, then cut off the old plug from the esc module and attach the knock sensor wire (usally blue) to the signal wire (usally yellow with a stripe, I think red) This will connect the knock sensor to the pcm. You will also need to get the correct knock sensor. Get one for a 95 1500 with a 350 for a auto trans. The connector on it should be black, not white.

Have you done any tuning to it yet? If you dont turn off the auto trans controlls and error codes, and change a few other settings, its gonna be popping up error codes because its not seeing the transmission and the other stuff we dont use. I also inputted my timing table I built, from my old 7747 bin file into the bin file in the 7427. If your running a stock un modded chevy tune on that pcm, your probably not gonna run the best. Tuning is required to run the best.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.5.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.