Replacing bed floor and small rust repair? First time metal work...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • posulli88
    258 I6
    • Dec 18, 2016

Replacing bed floor and small rust repair? First time metal work...

Hello All,

The majority of my jeep is rust free (or at least I think). The only areas I can see rust are in the truck bed floor and some on the interior bed sides. There is dimpling and holes that have broken through. There is also rust that has broken through on the interior truck bed sides near the floor seams. Would you replace the entire bed floor for this:

My understanding is I would have to take out all the spot welds lift up the flange and then put in the replacement bed floors. Has anyone done this before? I am new to metal and body work but figured this would be a good first project. Any advice suggestions on going about this? What about the bed sides? just cut back until there is no rust and replace that are with new metal? Again any suggestions are appreciated.
    77' J10 w/ 360, T18, Dana 20 TC
  • joe
    • Apr 28, 2000

Depends on you goals. For me it's a pickup truck and if used as such the floor gets torn up so "I" wouldn't get too crazy with pristine repairs. Those little holes in the floor I would open up till you have solid metal for the weld to stick too. Then grind flush, prep and paint. On the sides I'd cut out the rotted section back to solid steel and weld in a clean patch piece. That's just me and again it's a trucks cargo bed not a 57 Chev resto. I would also drill holes at the front of the box floor at the bulkhead to let any standing water drain out. While your at it crawl underneath and look for any punky floor sections and mounts soon to rot through.
    joe
    "Don't mind me. I'm just here for the alibi"

Comment

• posulli88
      258 I6
      • Dec 18, 2016