PDA

View Full Version : 258 I6 Carburetor tuning

caionneach
11-20-2003, 11:10 AM
HI FSJers!

I am new to the Full Size Jeep community as I have recently acquired a 1982 2 dr Jeep Cherokee.

The vehicle hardly runs, and has two or three large holes in the driver's side floor pan that need patching.

I recently rebuilt the carburetor and replaced the fuel pump, but the engine continues to idle very high and then quit after a few moments. So it is not idling properly, and I likely need to adjust the idling further, but it frequently dies before I can get out of the vehicle to adjust the idle screws.

Replacing the fuel pump seemed to help, and if I use canned starting fluid or gas down the carb's gullett then it fires off fine. If I force it to idle high with the accelerator, it will usually keep running.

This carburetor is missing the flange which goes in the float bowl assembly, so my problem is probably a float adjustment of some kind. I have not replaced the fuel filter because of the way the accelerator responds.

Any ideas? I have rebuilt carburetors before, but this one is missing the flange.

Kenneth Smith
Monroe, LA

Stuka
11-20-2003, 11:37 AM
Hey welcome to the board smile.gif

It will idle fast when you first start it up until it gets warmed up, this is called high idle.

turn the idle adjustment screw about 1.5 full turns, then lower the idle while its running. You have a carter BBD carb, this is one of the worst carbs in history (which is why i got rid fo mine for a weber). Whats worse is yours is a computer controlled version. The most common problem is the idle jets not working correctly, instead of them misting fuel, they drip it. This makes for a very ruff idle and you have to set the idle to about 1500 to get it to run.

That flange may be making it semi-flood the engine. As I doubt your idle jets are plugged with it being a fresh rebuild. www.carbs.net (http://www.carbs.net) should have this part for you.

caionneach
11-21-2003, 10:15 AM