PDA

View Full Version : 4L60/4L60E to NP208


Gramcracker
01-19-2004, 01:29 PM
Will my np208 case bolt up to a 4L60 trans? :confused:

Elliott
01-19-2004, 01:34 PM
It looks like AA makes two adaptors for it so I don't think so, off hand. Without the adaptor that is.

[ January 19, 2004, 07:35 PM: Message edited by: Elliott ]

Crazy_Jeepman
01-19-2004, 01:36 PM
Spline count is different, your TF 727 has a 23 spline output shaft. The 700R4/4L60E uses a 27 spline output shaft.

Elliott
01-19-2004, 01:38 PM
Advance Adaptors
800-350-2223
http://www.advanceadapters.com
Part #50-6303 requires new output shaft
#50-6309 uses stock output shaft

The 4L60E Takes adaptor #50-0404 requires new output shaft or #50-0405 uses the 70R4 4wd output shaft and some other kits.

[ January 19, 2004, 07:42 PM: Message edited by: Elliott ]

Gramcracker
01-19-2004, 01:46 PM
Is the Dana 300 the same as the NP208?

Crazy_Jeepman
01-19-2004, 01:50 PM
Same as what NP208? there are many versions of it. The round NP bolt patern will allow you to bolt any NP T-Case to any NP adaptor to any Trans. The Problem is the spline count on the output shafts of the trans, and the length. Even if the spline count is the same, the length can be off.

Gramcracker
01-19-2004, 01:56 PM
Now I get it......Thanks guys

Elliott
01-19-2004, 02:03 PM
That AA Adaptor is the same # for adapting the Dana 300.

Crazy_Jeepman
01-19-2004, 02:07 PM
There is a possibility you can do what you are wanting to do. I will be finding out in the next day or two as I am going to try it. Though I am going to try with the TH400. I want to use a TH400 in front of the Jeep NP208, since it has the correct front driveshaft output for my 86, above all else it has the fixed rear output. I have a GM NP208 from behind a TH400 as well as the adaptor and trans output shaft. I will swap the TH400 output shaft and swap the input shaft in the Jeep NP208 with the one out of the GM NP208. If this works, I would think you could do the same more or less. Will see what happens, may or may not work, one can only try. I don't plan on making Advance richer, I know these things can be done without 500.00 or more in adaptors. ;)

Rogue
01-19-2004, 03:23 PM
don't plan on making Advance richer, I know these things can be done without 500.00 or more in adaptors.thats the kind of talk I like to hear, keep us posted

Gramcracker
01-20-2004, 02:25 PM
No better way to find out.......that's why I keep old parts layin around.
Thanks Jeepman :D

[ January 20, 2004, 08:27 PM: Message edited by: Gramcracker ]

J10Mike
01-20-2004, 03:24 PM
gram,
welcome aboard. any pics of that yellow beast?

Crazy_Jeepman
01-21-2004, 01:33 PM
I think it can be done. ;) Check it out (http://www.ifsja.org/ubb/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=16;t=000803)

Gramcracker
01-21-2004, 02:13 PM
Nice work Jeepman. I belive taht the right 700R4 is the best choice for me also. Thanks again!!

And yes J10Mike, I do have some pics of my beast. Hope this works...go here: www.fsjworld.com/yellow83J10/ (http://www.fsjworld.com/yellow83J10/)